Beaverhead Rock


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Butte
August 6th 2015
Published: August 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

blog 08-06-15 Beaverhead Rock



I decided last night that I would travel south of here still on the Lewis and Clark trail to see Beaverhead Rock. The Corp of Discovery was looking for the Shoshone Indians in the hope that the Indians would trade with them so the expedition could have horses to go over the mountains. At 3 Forks Lewis and Clark went up the Jefferson River, taking a gamble that it would lead them to the Rockies. The river became harder to navigate and the men had to drag the boats a good part of the way, resulting in very sore and swollen feet for all the men. Clark was suffering from a sore, infected leg and Drouillard (the main hunter for the corp) was injured from a bad fall. They camped in the Jefferson Valley to heal and proceeded on up the Beaverhead River. It was on that river that Sacajawea noticed the Beaverhead Rock remembering it was a landmark on the tribes journey to their summer camp. They knew they were in Shoshone territory.

A week later the corp met up with the Indians and to the delight of all found that the chief was Sacajawea's brother. What are the chances of that happening! There were many such "luck" encounters for Lewis and Clark on their journey, making it the remarkable expedition that it was.

So, I got up about 8, had a very leisurely morning, packed the car, water, camera, snack, dog, his treats sweat shirt and maps. It was chilly this morning, the storms from yesterday blew out and a north wind followed. It was 46 degrees, but the sun was brilliant and warmed things fast.

The drive took me over a small mountain range then down into the Jefferson Valley which was huge. Picture. It was very arid near the mountains but as we got closer to the river it got greener. There are ranches all along the Tobacco Root Mountain Range and the valley is very green because of irrigation.

I did pass a small plot of land with a camper and several out buildings and the word HEAVEN mowed into the side bank. I think a character lives there. The fence along his stretch of road had boots on the fence posts. Picture

I drove through a small town called Twin Bridges and this
Moving a houseMoving a houseMoving a house

Forgot to mention when going up over the mountain there was a house being moved. Not just a mobile home, a full house. It took up both lanes
is where I picked up the Beaverhead River. Unlike the Jefferson which was wider and shallow, this river is narrow and swift. Must have been much easier for the men to paddle or pole, they didn't have to drag.

I finally found the Beaverhead Rock and ended up spending some time there just taking it all in. I was very confused though. For the life of me I couldn't see the beaver head in the rock. I kept trying but I though after so many years it must have worn away. Well, when I put the pictures on the computer, there it was, bold as can be. I've included 2 pictures of the rock, the whole thing and the section where the beaver is.

This is a very wet area, marshy, and all kinds of wildlife were there. There were white pelicans, assorted ducks, mule deer and sandhill cranes along with many different types of smaller birds and I'm sure lots of animals I couldn't see. I've included pictures of the ones I did see.

The ride back was enjoyable and I got a better picture of the Lady of the Rockies. It is 90 ft high sitting on the Continental Divide and was an effort of the whole town of Butte, only from public donations.

Back at camp I settled into my lounge chair to read a little but that didn't last long. A woman came by and we started talking. She was riding with her brother who came from Texas to visit her in Vancouver, BC. He spend a couple of weeks fishing and she canned the fish and every berry she could get her hands on, sending him home with a year's supply. She is riding the whole way with him then will attend a convention of some organization she belongs to and fly home.

I met another couple from Wisconsin who is renting a class C motorhome and they are on their way to Alaska. Pretty ambitious trip for newbees but good for them.

Met a guy on his way home to Washington State from Sturgus, SD. There is a motorcycle rally there every year for the last 75 years so this was a big one. He said there were 600,000 motorcyclists there. Sure glad I missed it!

I tried the Chicken Shack's fried chicken for dinner tonight and it was really good. By the time dinner was over I was sure ready to just relax.

I'm moving tomorrow but not far, about 2 hours. I am going to take the scenic route so it may be longer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb