House


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Bozeman
April 21st 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

A place with a viewA place with a viewA place with a view

This is Ross Peak in the Bridger Mountain Range. You can see Ross from any of the east facing windows in our house.
So, I'm going to try an experiment here. Everyone's been having trouble opening the pictures I send. I don't understand why because I put them in .pdf's so that everyone can see them and I can put comments on them. And everyone should be able to open them, acrobat reader's free. But maybe MSN does some weird encoding as I send them and that's why they don't come through. So, I'm going to try to put house updates and pictures here. It may not be a 'standard trip' but it sure has been a trip, an adventure like I've never experienced before.

So, we are at the stage of painting. We have **most** of the upstairs done. All three bedrooms (except the closets) and the guest bath are done. The great room (kitchen, dining, living all in one) is almost done...needs some touching up on the yellow and a wall primed and painted a green color (I know, Goshen Gator colors...what can I say). This evening was spent with my friend Kris-O taping plastic over all of the concrete floor in the 1st floor. As it is already finished and we don't want to ruin it with paint. Tomorrow evening
A deckA deckA deck

Way back when, it was just the beginnings of a first floor deck...
will be priming the walls downstairs and saturday painting them. Sunday Bryan and I will install the blue pine ceiling in the great room. Poor guy has been varnishing each individual piece by hand. Quite the ordeal. But it's done and drying now, prepared to hang.

I haven't taken pictures since there's been color on the walls. Forgot my camera when I had people over last weekend to paint and I'm still waiting on J9 to email me the pics we took with her camera.

On non-house notes, I've been elected to the Board for a local non-profit, Thrive. It was formerly Prevent Child Abuse Bozeman, Inc. and I have been a mentor through their programs as long as I've been here (5 years now!). It's an organization that I truly believe in and I look forward to helping shape it's future.

Well, I need to get to bed. It's 12:35 am and I have to be to work at 8 so I must get my beauty rest!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

And then there were wallsAnd then there were walls
And then there were walls

The first two walls go up, with the help of Ben, Dan and Phil...
The structure takes form...The structure takes form...
The structure takes form...

with both floors built and interior walls in place...there's only one place to go...
Is that a bird, is that a plane? No, it's a roof!Is that a bird, is that a plane? No, it's a roof!
Is that a bird, is that a plane? No, it's a roof!

And then the roof is flown in, and set in place by Bryan and Jon-O.
Getting closerGetting closer
Getting closer

each day we're getting closer...
Duncan LOVES his new homeDuncan LOVES his new home
Duncan LOVES his new home

here he is with a great find...a deer foreleg from the 'back 40' on our lot...never was there such a happy, giant dog as this day...


22nd April 2006

Looking Great!
This is a great idea. Your house is looking great and it looks like you have a beautiful view!
24th April 2006

beautiful
this seems like such a beautiful place to live!
30th May 2006

Great Start!
Looks like you are building in a really beautiful place. Great pic of Ducan; he looks pretty smart.
9th November 2006

As Anna would say - "Astonishing!"
Cali, I am so proud of you, girl! Your a gung-ho make a difference in the world person and God bless you for that! We will have to plan a vacation destination to Bozeman, but remember, life with 5 kiddos, might overactivate your dog!!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb