The Beard that Refused to Die


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Bozeman
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It started with a mistake. A simple mistake. I had been calling around town looking for a barber shop that still did the old time straight razor shave and I was so excited when I found one that I neglected to ask if they take walk ins. Come to find out Tonsorial Parlor shop in Bozeman is an appointment only establishment. So after getting over my disappointment I decided to shave myself (like I usually do), but really go above and beyond the call of duty in preparation for my Comprehensive Exams next week. After being inspired by my friend, Emile, and reading some online shaving forums (Badger & Blade and Shave My Face) I started steaming a fresh towel over the stove. If there is one thing that helps soften the beard and relieve stress from studying, it is a steamed towel in the face. Don't believe me? Give it a try, hell do it right now. Go grab a towel, throw it over a boiling pot of water and than throw it on your face, you will be the envy of your coworkers and peers! So after preparing my face, I went into the bathroom and started up the old electric razor. That's when the battle began. The beard sensed its demise was at hand and engulfed my electric razor in a battle to the death. Unfortunately my razor's battery doesn't hold a charge like it used to and much like a lawn mower trying to cut down a forest, the motor sputtered, coughed, and died. The beard had won the battle, and the score was Beard: 1 Luke: 0.

No way was I going to let this beard get the best of me (especially since I was missing a large patch of hair under my chin and my beard was WAY uneven) and where electricity had failed surely man power would succeed! So I went to the kitchen, grabbed a pair of scissors and a comb and went back to war! I combed and clipped and combed and clipped some more, hair fell and fell again until it looked like a small hairy badger had been shaved in my bathroom! That would show that beard who was boss, or so I thought (Beard: 1 Luke: 1).

I grabbed the disposable razors (though I'm now seriously thinking of investing in a straight or double edged razor) and went to town to finish the job. That damned beard was crafty, it realized I had bought sub par razors from Wal-Mart and clogged up not one, but TWO disposable razors Beard:2 Luke: 1.


I rinsed off my lather and waited for my electric razor to regain its charge so I could deliver the coupe-de-grace to my face. The final battle was underway; it was beard vs. boy and only one could walk away the victor! When the electric razor roared back to life, the beard knew it's time was up. It quivered in terror as pieces of it flew off from my face and when the hair had cleared, there sat a scruffy me.Beard:2 Luke:2

It was a tie and we went into sudden death! So I lathered my face back up and went to town with a disposable to clean up the remaining insurgents from my face. Final Score Beard:2 Luke: 3.

Next on my hit list: my hair.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



6th January 2008

now THAT'S style
a good straight razor will last you a lifetime
7th January 2008

Better with Butter
Next time, try softening the stubble in a tub full of popcorn first.
7th January 2008

Ok I blew getting you that straight razor, but you may thank me for that because I'm thinking that you would have cut off something REALLY important. I have looked around for a strsight razor and believe it or not ebay is your place I saw them for .99!!!
7th January 2008

Straight Razors
My friend, Emile (see earlier comment). Collects, hones, and refurbishes old straight razors! He gets all his from e-Bay, maybe I'll contract out through him. I think I have Bumpa's old Double Edged Razor kit, kicking around some where, Mom and I were looking for it that last time I was home.
8th January 2008

Blood bank is looking for donors :)
I've used that double edge razor kit before. I think you are safer with the WalMart disposables. You going to keep the stache? How about a snood and some wax? Maybe you can try Salvador Dali, or the pizza guy style ..
12th January 2008

Duke Forty
Have really enjoyed the blog; interesting seeing what Duke Forty's mild mannered alter ego Luke Shorty has been up to.
24th January 2008

Yes, very Dali-esque
Hi Luke, your Mom sent me your link. What a funny sight upon opening this blog! Anyway, it was a great story and great seeing you emerge! Hope all is awesome in the mountains. Love, Lyn
11th March 2008

so HOT
ok, no really. I have to say NO! Its good to see that you shaved that mustache.

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb