Executive Decision


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Big Sky
June 28th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

CampCampCamp

This was our camp at Grant Village in Yellowstone. Bear safe camping.
Geo: 45.2855, -111.306

Today, Saturday, started out like any other normal day for two weary travelers sleeping at random campsites. Well actually, our Japanese camp neighbors from Orlando woke us at 4:30 am as they were leaving camp for God only knows where. Besides that, I must say, since I purchased a new $20 sleeping bag at Kmart, I have been quite comfortable during these freezing nights.
I packed up the camp early so we could hit the road. Alex was not up for the early part so he remained in the tent until I dragged him out in his sleeping bag. All that remained of the camp was Alex on the ground snug in his mummy bag refusing to get out.
Once on the road, we headed out of Yellowstone towards the town of Ennis. Along the way we stopped to see magnificent Old Faithful who blew her top in all her glory, it is really amazing to see all the geysers, boiling mud holes etc. It is like being on another planet.
We went to Ennis where we quickly learned we weren't going fishing or $300, and other than the cool soda shop we had lunch in there was not
Blowing her topBlowing her topBlowing her top

Amazing exhibition of the power of nature just under our feet.
much else to do. So we headed to Virginia and Nevada cities. What a blast to the past. Past meaning 1800's. The two towns were still like old west towns. We found a place to pan for gold, but left with no more gold then we started with. With nothing left to explore, I made an executive decision to blow the joint and bless Big Sky with our visit. What a good choice. Tomorrow we white water raft the Gallatin River. The Madison looked fun, but much to tame compared to the Gallatin. They won't let Alex kayak it with me so it looks like we are going in a big rubber raft. Some people actually are stand up paddle boarding, but they say you end up swimming a lot, and that water is cold.
I let the boy talk me into to accommodations again, so here I sit typing from a cabin. I don't think I will get as good a nights sleep as I do outside. I am holding up my local beer, Moose Drool, here's to tomorrow...

Advertisement



29th June 2013

Good to hear from you Son. It has been a couple of days and I have been thinking about you and Alex. I am enjoying your trip and living vicariously through your adventures. Have fun and keep writing. Love to you both.
29th June 2013

Thank you for the pictures, you are starting to give me ideas about my next vacation. Inquiring minds want to know if you were able to get out of the ticket. What does Moose Drool taste like, is it as good as your beer?
2nd July 2013

Wow!! Mother Nature is amazing!!!!
3rd July 2013

That is amazing!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.8kb