Hush, I say there's more to life than rush


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Belgrade
August 12th 2015
Published: August 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The road ahead - deer creek, YellowstoneThe road ahead - deer creek, YellowstoneThe road ahead - deer creek, Yellowstone

Just looking ahead makes me hopeful. Seeing where I've been and how I got there; I know my next adventure is going to be enlighting. Sometime you can find places that are on no maps and wouldn't mean anything to anyone else, but in your particular mindset, at this moment of the day, it is perfect and you would not to be anywhere else. My next travel won't be more than the one I just lived; it will add up, complete who I am and give me a more refine look on life. I stopped at Deer creek on my way to Roosevelt and never actually made it all the way; because this trail made me happy, the horizon filled my eyes with wonders and made me spend my day there. I'll make it to Roosevelt on another trip, when it's going to be the place I need at that time.
My last night in Dakar-Nizlopi

‘You’ve got some soul searching to do girl? Don’t ever let anyone get in the way. You got this’ that women in Old Faithful.

So I just finished my first real long distance bike ride. I will have to calculate the official number, but I think it turns around 300miles/480km in 20 days, with some hikes in between.
I feel great. The last miles were hard and coming back to regular civilization happened a bit too fast for me, but I feel really good; like I just found something that makes me feel like I am living, a thing that animates me.
I lost some things, I am really stinky, as is all of my stuff, I have had some really scary experiences on the road and I am smiling like a dumbass.
I have pushed my body farther than it’s regular limits. My legs are a bit shaky, I can’t feel my bum and my shoulders are tensed like never before. But I will go back to yoga tomorrow. In the end, I have biked 100 miles in two days, and could have kept going. I can feel in my whole body that
Highway 89, between Gardiner and EmigrantHighway 89, between Gardiner and EmigrantHighway 89, between Gardiner and Emigrant

Montana is beautiful and ever sunny. If one wants to bike it, I highly recommend turning on East River Road at the 20th mile and keep on going from there. It's less busy, the shoulder is safer and you see the valley from higher. I usually just google the places I go and follow the indications, but it had me going on the freeway for 21miles between Livingston and Bozeman. That was scary and uncomfortable. I will try finding alternatives on my next trip. They call it Big Sky country, and it's obvious why.
I am on another level than before. Suffering through the adventure doesn’t scare me anymore. I am going to rest and learn here, in Montana, for a few weeks, but my next trip will be more prepared, harder and even more satisfying.
I have spent a lot more than expected, but half of it was in gear and repairs; I won’t be as surprised next time; I’ll know what to watch for. I also am a bit more conscious of my needs and will provide better. I have some answers to get, but I know what question to ask now.
I have entered a sub-culture, a new less known world were people like to get challenged by the elements and possibly be suppressed by the strength of nature. Met eyes that shine at the idea of a new peek to conquer, a new day to spend in the rain or simply a new culture to understand. People that don’t need anyone to draw the lines for them, that will find a way to make it happen the way that seems the best, but if it ain’t they’ll recognize it and learn from it. A society were sharing your knowledge or
Swamp road, a sheep herder cabinSwamp road, a sheep herder cabinSwamp road, a sheep herder cabin

I guess I have been lucky through my travels; I never had to bike during a storm or deal with really cold weather; except too sunny days. I got to the farm at around 19h30 on wednesday night. The storm was raging in the west and we could easily see it. It got to us just after 20h, and it was beautiful. The sunset was bursting, surrounded by impressive grey clouds and amazing lightnings were surrounding us. Felt good not having to deal with a wet saddle or having to wait for the tent to dry before folding it. When I woke up the next morning. I had to remind myself I was in a bed and didn't need to pack anything. Felt weird.
the few things you own is not a question, but a reflex. You recognize that shine in the smile of those that are living life to its limits with nothing in their hands.
I am addicted. I can’t wait to make my next try, just to deal with things differently.

One of my friends actually just told me that she is ‘trying to approach travel’ like I do. I could not be more happy for her, but then again, traveling is a different experience for everyone. It is your journey, yours to shape and take wherever your guts tell you. I am glad that I can communicate my hunger for the world to other people, that I can show them that anyone can do it. But I want them to get inspire by my tellings to open their own eyes and make the world theirs. (Especially because I want to her about it. Other’s stories always hold something new, and always show a bit more of them).
I think there lays the difference between a tourist and a traveller. The first is there to witness something different and take a souvenir home; the other one is making it a
Viggo at rest beside my cabin for the next monthViggo at rest beside my cabin for the next monthViggo at rest beside my cabin for the next month

Everything is out of the bags, my sleepin bag is hanging in the sun and tomorrow I'll do laundry. I cook on a grill and had a shower this morning. Theres a sheep munching on the grass beside me and a rooster woke me up. The pigs will have the waste of my breakfast and the eggs were laid yesterday. The mountains are everywhere in the horizon. I streched and watched the sunrise, barefoot with a cup of joe. Life is good, but the hitch to see new places is still there. I will have to go on a run tonight to get my heartbeat up, to feel my legs work. I found aome sandals on the road side, my feet cry from extasy of being out of my boots.
part of his own story, leaving a part of who he was for something brand new and will colour the rest of his life.

I also had a lot of time for myself, as this blog shows. A lot of time to meditate and sharpen my senses. Practicing photography, learning my angles and putting names on things.

It was a wonderful experience. Yellowstone was a name I knew, but now it is a memory I cherish. The Grand Tetons were unknown to me and now are a part of my life, an obsession that I do not want to let go of. Karl, David, Liz, Darcy, Elaine and her husband, Marc, Gabriel and Anita(singe de l’espace), Isa et Pierrot; all of them left a mark on me, taught me something about the world or myself. I know more about bikes and packing; it’s less fuzzy in my head now. And miles are less impressive. Google map is less important, not absolute anymore. Sleeping outside is a good idea now, not a sign of bad luck. Waking up early, napping to go to bed later and dressing warmly to stay out longer; fold and pack my world to take it in another light… It all sounds way more fun now. Less excruciating and more appealing.

It is a good start for my beginning, ain’t it?

This world-Selah Sue


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb