Leaving St. Louis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
November 9th 2013
Published: November 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Forgot to say we drove 495 miles yesterday. We got up at 6am (Ken got up around 5am)-he was excited like a little kid; he loves the road trips! We took showers and we were ready to go. I forgot to say last night on our way back to our RV we saw 6 deer near our camp (they were alive!-we've seen so many dead ones one the road). it's another beautiful sunny day. We stopped at Starbucks and got on the road (7 am). Out of Chesterfield (our campground), we got on I-64 to I-70. We will be on this highway a long tome- all the way until we hit I-15, which we take to Las Vegas. We are going to stop and spend some time with Jason and Amy before heading to Tucson. Can't wait to see them!

So far the roads have been good in Missouri-no construction out of St. Louis, lots of farmland. The leaves have mostly turned brown but still beautiful with the sunshine and the grass is still green. We are listening to Christmas music! I'm one of those people who don't get sick of Christmas music!

We enter Kansas and it's all farms. its really pretty. One Kansas farmer feeds 155 people. Thank you farmers! We stopped in Lawrence, KS for lunch and fuel. Ken went and filled up the gas tank while I went in the grocery store. It's called Dillon's. The same company as Krogers and Fry's. As we were leaving the store, traffic was stopped for a funeral.

Back on the road. We see a sign in Wamego, KS for the OZ Museum. It sparks my curiosity as to where the movie was actually filmed. A part of me hopes a bit of it was actually filmed in Kansas. But my research tells me it was all filmed in a studio in Culver City, CA. There is so much trivia surrounding the movie; very interesting.

We are going to make it to Hays, KS tonight. There are no campgrounds so we called a Walmart and we are going to stay in their lot tonight! Could start my Christmas shopping!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



9th November 2013

Safe Travels!
So enjoy receiving my email alert when you have posted a new blog!!☺️
10th November 2013

Thanks Ann!
I love doing it!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb