4th week in St. Louis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
December 4th 2021
Published: December 5th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: Decided to check out some St. Louis open houses. It's an interesting city with some super old mansions and some super run down neighborhoods and trash... I went to 5 houses 3 which were reasonable ok condos or houses in the 110k-160k range and then I spent some time in some gorgeous mansions. One which was over 7,000 square feet!!! Had it's own humongous arcade room. Even so, it was going for 950k. In the evening I signed into virtual bookclub!

Wednesday: Went to an Irish bar not too far away which had an Irish band jam session.

Thursday: Found an event online called "beer and christmas carols" apparently that was a ruse to get people to come to church... very not clear about that. Soooo that was interesting. Let's bribe the non-jesus lovers with beer and try to convert them :-o. Soo that didn't last long!

Friday: I found quite possibly the coolest dog park on the planet. Definitely the best I've ever been to. My sadness lies in the fact that I didn't find it until the day before we left St. Louis!!! It's a paid membership dog park- dogs have to provide vaccination cards (humans don't though... lol) and undergo a temperament test to become a member. $10 for a day but if you were a regular member it's $20-$35/month which isn't bad for what you're getting! It's a huge warehouse and large yard with agility playgrounds, and all kinds of stuff. There are 4 bars for the humans and a restaurant. Most of the place is dogs off leash but wherever there is food it's dogs on leash or humans only. It's just incredible with music playing. There are "dogtenders" all over the place who look out for unsafe dog behavior and also pick up dog poop promptly even!

Saturday: Good bye St. Louis :'( St. Louis has by far been my favorite stop and somewhere I'd like to return to- maybe live??? No, I'm not stopping traveling anytime soon but if tomorrow I had to live permanently somewhere, St. Louis is where I would pick. Definitely my vibe of a city. When I was leaving town I actually realized I hadn't bought a shot glass for Missouri! So I had to seek one out as well as some other errands. Only about 4.5 hours of actual driving though. The drive was relatively uneventful. Just filled with trump, jesus and pro-life signs everywhere. Now I am in Kentucky loaded up on groceries and ready to experience life in rural Kentucky. Quite the change from St. Louis!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb