Week 3 in St. Louis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
November 27th 2021
Published: November 30th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: Started off the morning with a lovely walk to a coffee shop a mile away. Clear, sunny morning just a little chilly and crisp air. On the way I tricked Copper though as we stopped to get a nail trim at a pet store. All was better when he got his pup cup though 😊

In the afternoon I went and heard the St. Louis Symphony Youth Orchestra play. It was their first in person concert since the pandemic and they were quite impressive for all being in high school. I seriously missed live music sooo much! So nice to be able to appreciate live music again!

After the concert I went and wandered around Union Station which had been decorated already with their Christmas lights. I will say over half the people there were families wearing matching pajamas because Santa was there for portraits lol! I went up in the St. Louis wheel which was a gorgeous view of the city lights on a clear evening.

Tuesday: Had some delicious Indian food 😊

Wednesday: Baked Pumpkin and Apple pies in preparation for Thanksgiving! Yum!

Thursday: Thanksgiving morning Copper and I went on a verrrrry cold hike with Tails on the Trails. Not a strenuous hike- fairly flat but it was nice to get out and enjoy the sunlight even if my cheeks were frozen. We did about 4 miles very quickly since no one wanted to stop with that breeze ( it was in the mid 30s).

In the early afternoon I had a lovely zoom call with extended family. I feel this is one thing the pandemic has taught us we can do!

In the late afternoon I was invited with my airbnb host to the next door neighbor's house for thanksgiving dinner. My oh my their house is gorgeous and their food delicious! I truly am thankful for all the people I meet on my travels. I will say more people should socialize with their neighbors- you bake the pies and you don't have to figure out how to find a place in the car they don't slide around. You can have a few drinks and not worry about driving- in fact your bed is closer than your car! lol. It's fantastic.

Saturday: I drove to Illinois and hiked the Salt Lick Trail which was the trail which the most elevation I could find on all trails- just over 1000ft. Side note: In kansas I couldn't even find a trail with 100ft of elevation change. I also continue to be amazed by how radically the weather changes in the mid west and how bad weather forecasts are even a few days out. Thursday it didn't reach 40* all day but today it was over 70*!!! In the evening I went to a local vegan cafe called Seedz Cafe- very cute!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb