Summer Vacation St. Louis-Chicago 2007 Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
July 9th 2007
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

St. Louis CourthouseSt. Louis CourthouseSt. Louis Courthouse

Nice Courthouse in front of the Gateway Arch.
The St. Louis Gateway Arch greeted us after our overnight train trip. It wasn't that bad after all. We slept but I think I bothered everyone with my snoring. I need to take care of that soon!

We walked over to our hotel and were excited to get our day started. We are staying right next to the arch and plan to take a few of the sights around the neighborhood as well.

We start off with a quick hike to the courthouse and Gateway Arch for a few pictures. As we got closer I kept in mind my great fear of heights and thinking how maybe this time it wouldn't be so bad. Tony once again mentioned how for someone so terrified of heights I sure do seem to make myself go up in the a lot.

To get to the top of the Arch they cram you inside a pod with other people and then, clinkity-clang, you get to one side of the top!

Where I freaked out and walked across the floor to the other side to get in line to go back down as quick as possible. I did NOT like being up
St. Louis Gateway ArchSt. Louis Gateway ArchSt. Louis Gateway Arch

The majestic Arch is my nemesis.
there! While I loved everything about the arch the actual being at the top was frightening for me plus children were running all over the place and shaking things up. I was glad to get back down to firmer land!

We went to the Laclede's Landing area next for lunch and a stroll through the cobblestone streets. Then we walked back to the Arch for our Mississippi River cruise. Other than the Arch though there wasn't much to see.

We ended our day with dinner at the hotel's revolving restaurant, just for kicks. They make good steak!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hugging the ArchHugging the Arch
Hugging the Arch

To fear the Arch is to love the Arch.
Gateway ArchGateway Arch
Gateway Arch

View from below.
The PodsThe Pods
The Pods

These tiny pods take you up to the top of the gateway Arch. Not for the claustrophobic! Its like an escape pod from Star Wars.
Packed Like SardinesPacked Like Sardines
Packed Like Sardines

Tony, Pinky Monkey, and me cramped in the pod.
Dinner With the ArchDinner With the Arch
Dinner With the Arch

This was the view from the top of our rotating restaraunt hotel tower.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb