Summer Vacation St. Louis-Chicago 2007 Day 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 10th 2007
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Lincoln Park ZooLincoln Park ZooLincoln Park Zoo

Let sleeping lions lie!
We arrived in Chicago by train then took a taxi over from Union Station to the Seneca Hotel to check in. Its a nice room, elegant, typical from a bygone era. It will serve its purpose well.

After checking in we headed over to the Lincoln Park Zoo because it is free. Its a great zoo. There is plenty to see and do. Plenty of animals, cats which are my favorite. Their gorilla enclosure is also great!

I also experienced my first Chicago Style Hot Dog...and it has too much stuff on it. I am a simple hot dog man, just bread, wiener, bacon, and onions. Yum!

After we rested a bit at the hotel we went to the John Hancock Tower Building, which is right next to our hotel. There were no lines and it was one of my favorite experiences I've ever had! The billion lights of the Chicago skyline twinkled before us in all directions, except for the deep dark abyss of darkness that is Lake Michigan.

I wish I was with a love of my life while I watched it all. *Sigh* The single life sucks!

Still, it was a very nice
Family PictureFamily PictureFamily Picture

Pinky Monkey meets some distant relatives!
surprise. I wasn't even into it at first but I found my favorite view of Chicago and it is from up here.

Afterwards, we took a walk down the Magnificent Mile and saw some of the tourist and shops. My favorite thing to see was the very gothic Water Tower. Its smaller than you expect but larger than you think.

After dinner at Pizzeria Uno (Yum deep dish!) we just laid on the terrace of our hotel looking up at Big John (the Hancock building) rising up in front of us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Nightview From John Hancock BuildingNightview From John Hancock Building
Nightview From John Hancock Building

I will ask the future love of my life to marry me on this spot!
Gothic Water TowerGothic Water Tower
Gothic Water Tower

Possibly the coolest tower I've seen.
View From the BridgeView From the Bridge
View From the Bridge

Strolling around downtown Chicago at night.
Wrigley BuildingWrigley Building
Wrigley Building

Classic Chicago architecture.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb