Taylor, the Latte Boy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Jackson
February 16th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was a nice day off, if only the construction workers hadn’t started working at 7 a.m. I’m glad I have been training for it for years- sleeping during construction, that is. Once I woke up, I did some reading and worked on a few projects, then Victor, Dana and I went to do errands. We needed to hit a hardware store, and later found a gift shop with ROOMS full of cards- I was in heaven! Victor needed to go to Wal-mart, but it ended up that they couldn’t help him, so he had to call someone else. He was wandering around on the phone while Dana shopped. Now, in Spokane, it would be much easier to spot him in a store, but in the South, wow, not so easy.

When we got back, I went for a walk to a local coffee shop. There’s one just up the street that I’d seen a few times that is a coffee shop, and on the weekends, houses a church. I had a nice long chat with Gary, the owner, about ministry and books and the post-modern church and things. It was a great break.

The kids and most of the chaperones drove to another city today to do a school show. Apparently someone forgot it was a national holiday, but they did the show anyway. Amanda, Christine and New Sarah stayed here, along with Victor and Alice, Dana and I. Amanda, Christine, and Sarah joined Dana and I for dinner.

Lately, I’ve been becoming more and more impressed with how short-term memory works. In every hotel, I get a new room number. In every venue, there’s a new TD and 8 or so new names to learn. In every city, I remember those things, but I can’t remember them from the last city, unless I try really hard, then maybe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb