Week Six!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hippy fair and Poorly dogs



I woke up at 5am on Saturday morning to feed/pick up dog poo, a normal daily routine (though slightly earlier!). But when I arrived at the dog kennels a horror scene unfolded...all thirteen of them had servere diarhoa and by servere I MEAN it! I shall try and explain in the nicest way possible...poo pancakes pretty much sums it up! And LOTS of them. I'd say each dog averaged 5 plus 10-20 'little' bits which works out (if my maths is correct!) at 65 big jobbies and 195 little ones. I do apologise for the extent I am dragging this out but seriously, this is my life at the moment! It took roughly an hour to pick this up using a shovel because they had frozen to the ground! God my life is AWESOME :P Nah its good but oh my- normal poop is a blessing now! After this horrible ordeal I had five minutes to change and get my derriere in the car for the drive to the Hippy Fair I attended 😊 Its called 'Do it Green!' and everyyear 70+ (well thats what it said in the leaflets...!) people turn up to sell their stock! Linda makes beeswax candles ranging from little tea lights all the way up to big-ass 5inch pillars! And they're all complelty natural! Well at first I was a gibbering idiot- I simply can't talk attack random people! By this I mean shouting "HI THERE, HAVE YOU BOUGHT BEES WAX CANDLE BEFORE". I mumbled, they said pardon, I went bright red ending with them shuffling off giving me a weird look. Nawt good! So it took a while before I actually sold a candle... I mooched around the fair for a bit which was actually located in a Global Market in Minneapolis! The markets awesome with shops all the way from Africa and Turkey! and sells all sorts from traditional swiss toys to african tribal masks which I REALLY wanted to buy but the whole 'getting it back to England' stopped me
😞 Oh well...I shall simply have to go to Africa now!

Now the fair itself has all sorts of sale items to purchase from our beeswax candles to mittens made from recyled jumpers and they were AWESOME! I bought a pair and they are so pretty (have posted pic for you to see!) After I thought about it for a bit I wondered whether the owners bought cheap jumpers and turned them into these gloves which doesnt really count as recyling or whether they digged through charity stores in order to find nice patterns. I doubt the latter! Anyhoos there was some really cool things being sold. Fancy buying beeswax candles for a change check out- (http://scentfromnaturebeeswax.blogspot.com/) however you have to live in america, well actually minnesota sooo...yar! Doubt any of you guys will be buying these anytime soon! They are real special little candles though, I shall give you our marketing drivle that I repeated a good hundred plus times on Saturday!
Me- "Hi There! Have you bought beeswax candles before?!"
Them- hopefully..."No" (if its a yes I mumbled something and they walked away/ ignored me)
Me-"Well did you know that beeswax candles are a natural airpurifier!"
Them- "No"
Me- "They actually release negative ions into the air thus purfiying it! How cool is that!"
Them- "Oh..." *look skeptical*
Me-"They are also dripless and smokeless and toxic free"
Then I said something like "And they're AWESOME/really cool" and they either bought them or buggered off.

So yar...you just got my whole saturday shoved into a few sentences!
We then came back to Lindas house at around 6ish and where greeted with yet more dog poo!

Sunday started the same way as saturday but now add into the equation ICE! It rained on Saturday night and the rain droplets FROZE instantly! Now I found this really bizarre as surely if its cold then the rain turns into hail/snow right? Well no, not in good ol' minesota! There must have been a thermocline in the air or something dodgy meaning everything from the car to leaves where covered in weird bumpy ice! Oh and the ground was literally an ice rink! I just slid around like I do when I go ice skating and havent been for ages and managed to NOT fall over! Was rather impressed with myself 😊 Then we went to the Mid-west Mountaineering Expo which had loads of stalls advertising outdoor adventure type things to...Ice lanterns (check out- http://www.wintercraft.com/shop/supplies). These things are AWESOME! You buy a starter kit and basically freeze ice into a hollow bowl shape where you can then put candles in! They're so pretty 😊 I then bought some black diamond gloves aka the BEST gloves IN the world! I had northface ones and they are shite. They dont dry as fast plus they get wet quicker in rain/snow. They also dont fit as well so in short buy black diamond gloves (god I feel as if I am advertising loads of peoples products in this blog!) Oh and a black face cover with 'breathable material' over my mouth so that hopefully my breath wont form a 'freeze patch' like it did in swizterland which is no fun when it goes rock solid thus preventing breathing at all!

Oh and take a look at the picture of the buckets! It went down to -7C on Saturday (god knows what it was at night!) and the buckets COMPLETLY froze! Thats like 8/9 inches of solid ice 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb