RIP Muskrat


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
November 19th 2010
Published: November 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wimzi's first kill



Yesterday at approximatly 4:30pm I witnessed my first death. The death of a Muskrat. We let the dogs out into the front yard (Linda had a whopping great big fence put in about 3 weeks ago so they can have a bigger playground!) in groups no bigger than four, one consiting of Wimzi, Tuloon, Phoneix and Sweetpea- group 2. They ran up and down having great fun, prancing in the snow, running near the lakes edge...when suddenly Wimzi disappeared. Only for a moment then up she jumped from the rivers edge with a something in her mouth! "Shes caught a Muskrat!" Linda cried and we ran like freaking nutty things after her. Now persuading a dog to do something is no easy feat and it comes in four stages- 1) Pleading- please Wimzi give me the dead animal 2) Playing- come on wimzi!! Give me the dead animal YAY! 3) Panicking- goddamit dog pass it over and finally 4) Getting angry- GIVE ME THE DAMN MUSKRAT YOU EVIL CRETAN OF SATAN and alas non worked. Of course they didnt, she is a puppy with her first kill and was damn chuffed about that! So after
...a muskrat eating beast! ...a muskrat eating beast! ...a muskrat eating beast!

Who is still cute :)
chasing her for a good 10 minutes up and down the orchard Linda attacking from the right, me from the left drastically running out of hope Wimzi grew tired and ran directly at me...moohahah..i've got you now! And I did 😊 I put that puppy on the ground so fast and began wrestling the poor muskrat from her jaws. Now muskrats are actually quite cute 😞 and I while I was yanking the tail and she was yanking its whole body I felt really really bad for this little creature! Thankgod it wad dead (at one point during the chase I saw Wimzi actually nibbling the body the way a human does to a chicken bone...yes..it was a goner). Once she released it I chucked the thing as far as I could into the lake...but not far enough. The damn dead thing was on the waters edge just behind some reeds. Sweetpea and Phoneix had been witnessing this whole ordeal with a scary hunger in their eyes! And now ran to collect the 'prize' laying only 20ft away. Thank baby jesu himself its so cold the water is unbearable to step in or we would have had round 2 of muskrat wrestling! Mm...lets just say Wimzi hopefully won't be planing anymore kills in the future!

P.s I would put a picture of a Muskrat up...but I can't for copyright reasons! (and of course did NOT have time to casually take pictures during the ordeal!) so look up how cute they are 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb