And we're off . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
June 29th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been a very long time since our last vacation, 369 days since we last left home. That's a little long. I've been counting down the weeks, then days, then hours, then patients (sixteen today), but it all finally ended. Work went great today and we left ahead of schedule.

This vacation will be far different than our last. We will drive fewer miles, do more stuff, and be around immensely more people. Jeff will probably still drive the whole way, although I have actually pulled the camper now and could do it if needed. I knit, and want to get a lot of projects done. We also geocache, and hope to do at least one per day and per state. We are also bringing a gnome with us for some photo ops. I'm not sure how often we'll remember to get him out, but we thought it'd be a fun thing to try.

Our plan today is to make it past Chicago. I love Chicago, but not in traffic nor while pulling a camper. We now have I-PASS which should make the tollway significantly less onerous.

Liam's "When I have kids . . . " Statement of the Day: When I have kids, I'm going to let them do whatever they want.

Number of Times Cole Asked about Going Home: 9 (beginning within an hour of leaving).

Projects Completed: 1 (June Afghan Squares)

Geocaches Found: 5 (MN-3, WI-1, IL-1)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb