To the Headwaters of the Mississippi River


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
September 7th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sept 7th, 2007

Westboro, WI to Jacobson, MN at Aitkin County Park on the Mississippi River

Awoke to a dismal morning. I could not call Emily last night because their was no cell service in the Wisconsin Northwoods. I road 2 miles out of the campsite and had to put on rain gear. A real slow but steady rain began. I went North as fast as possible hoping the sun would break.

In the rain, I managed to drive and then hike 10 minutes to Wisconsins largest peak, Timms Hill, less than 2,000 ft above sea level.

Finally, when I hit the lake the clouds started to break. The lakeshore was incredible. So incredible that I tried to drive my motorcycle down a desolate beach only to get the bike buried in the said. A KLR650 loaded down with 65 punds of gear on the back just suck in the loss dunes. I spent over an hour digging it out and taking all the weight off the back end. I was all alone and served as a reminder not to be so stupid as I got excited to rip down the beach.

I have to go back to Bayfield, WI on Lake Superior. It is the gateway to the Apostle Islands National Seashore. I went to various beaches in the National Seashore and just loved it! Amazing...

Drove over the bridge to Duluth, MN and about got blown off the bridge. With the wind it was a little crazy. But, beautiful view non-the-less.

Finally, asked for a campsite at a gas station and ended up with a beautiful campsite right on the Mississippi River for the night...


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb