Christmas In Michigan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan
December 26th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.1625, -83.4031

Christmas in snowy Michigan. We stepped off the plane into -15F weather.... eeks! And lots of snow.... yeah! It will be a white Christmas.

We somehow managed to find our way to my parents new home, even though I forgot to print a map... oops. It's so nice to see family. We stayed with my parents for the time we were in Michigan, thanks Mom and Dad. Saturday night Steve found the energy to head into Plymouth to see friends. I crashed. Sunday we had a gathering at our favorite bar, Hermann's Olde Town Grille in Plymouth. So many friends showed up. Thanks to everyone for battling the fabulous weather for a visit. It was great to see all of you. We wish we could have spent more time with each of you!

Before Christmas I went shopping with my sister!! I purposely brought very little with me so that I could stuff my luggage with all of my favorite American things. Steve and I also visited our favorite dentist. I think everyone is aware of the British teeth stereotype... well, let's just say that dentistry in the UK is not quite the same as dentistry in America. After the dentist we hit Miller's for the best burger ever! While home we also indulged in fresh rolls from the east side and kielbasa for Ehor's in Detroit. Yum!

Christmas eve was my family's tradition of having friends over for food and drink. This has been happening since I was a kid and many of the same people come every year. It was good to see everyone. Christmas was at Grandma's and everyone was there. There is nothing like going to Grandma's for Christmas.

Before leaving for California we hit the DIA for the Monet to Dali exhibit, then went to the Book-Cadillac Hotel. This place is a Detroit icon that has been brought back to life. It was fantastic. They did a lovely job. That evening I met with some girl friends and Steve took the boys out. What fun.

It was so good to be with family and friends. It was great to see our niece, Taylor. She is getting so big and Christmas was loads of fun with her. But it is time to go. We are off to California to visit Steve's family for New Years.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb