Independence Day in Marquette


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan
July 4th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Now that Independance Day had arrived, I needed to find out what was going on and when. Everybody around the motel knew about a parade and a food festival at the waterfront, but no one knew what time they started.

In need of some breakfast, I went off to find my standard coffee house with latte , muffins , and scones. There were a couple out there, but they were closed for the holiday. I ended up in something called a Bakery and Coffee House, but it was a far cry from what I was after.

I rode down to the waterfront area and noticed a lady setting up some chairs along the street. According to her the parade started at 2pm and the food fair was after that. She wanted to be sure to see the parade because her grandaughter was in it.

With some time on my hands, I went for a ride around town to take in whatever sights there might be. Several blocks away from the main street is another stret with just as many businesses. It leads down to the University of Northern Michigan and into an area that seems up-class from other parts of the town. I asked some peole I met walking around why there was a university in a place like Maruette. What I meant was, what is a university doing in a simple, small, and out of the way city like Marquette. According to them the university has proved to be a good place for students to come in order to get away from the big city madness and the culture that goes with it in southern Michigan. Well to do parents send their kids here and this helps to keep the university thriving. I must say, as a student, I wouldn't have minded studying here, although I'm sure when the cold and snow sweeps across Lake Superior from the Canadian Shield it looks like quite a different place.

With two spires sticking up above the town, I couldn't help notice St. Peter's Cathedral. Thankfully it was open so I went into see the sanctuary. The vaulted ceiling was one of the highest I've seen, and although the walls and alter were simple in design, the place still had the majesty of a European cathedral. Something unique for me was the fact that this church has a crypt where the first bishop of Marquette, Fredric Baraga, is buried. The crypt can be viewed, but an appointment was necessary so I didn't bother. Fr. Baraga seems to have been well respected. There are references to him in the town history and a street was named for him.

I came across a plaque comemorating the first steam railroad in Marquette in 1857. It served the Jackson and Cleveland Iron mines 14 miles away. Iron mining was the first resource based business in the area.

While wandering around, I quite accidentally came upon a ceremony in a small park. I could see some military uniforms, so I went to have look. A memorial to the vetrans was erected in 2001 and this ceremony was a rededication. Evidentally they do this every Independence Day. I couldn't help stop and take part in remembering. I talked to one of the vetrans afterward and he made it clear that he was pleased I stopped and spent some time with them. That felt good.

The parade finally started and I had no trouble finding a spot. I think every club, business and school was represented in the parade. Good grief, was it ever long. I was standing beside a woman win her fifties and learned few little tidbits about the community from her.

One of the signs in the parade had the word YOOPER printed on it. She was surprised I didn't know what a YOOPER was, so I had to reminder her I wasn't from around these parts. It turns out a YOOPER is a person that lives in the upper penninsula of Michigan. Get this - one of the things that identifies them is they end their sentences with "eh". I was pleased to find out we at least influenced something of the American language from Canada.

The city was built up with a large Finnish community. There is still Finnish spoken by some groups, and she said she spoke some herself. She didn't think much of the Governor, who is a woman, but doesn't speak Finnish. The woman I was talking to was also pretty certain that the Governor was originally a Canadian.

Something very American happened at the parade. When the military veterans came along, everyone, and mean everyone, young and old, stood up and applauded. That applause continued as the small contingent of the
Kilts in the USKilts in the USKilts in the US

I was pleased to see us Scots represented
present military past by. I liked that.

With the parade finished, I tried out the food fair, expecting a local ethnic mix of food, but there was no such luck. It was just a collection of fat and sweet foods done by local groups or commercial outfits. Heck, there was even an A&W tent. I started on a souvlaki that had way too much cream on it, so I binned that and went on my way.

As I walked past some newspaper vending machines I noticed one of the column headings in the USA Today newspaper.

"How Do Americans see Americans?"

I couldn't help it. The answer formed in my head right away.

"Gee George, we see ourselves as being pretty great. Don't you agree? Next question?"

I mean honestly, what a self absorbed question.

So, other than the food fair, this was a very nice day off the bike. I went to bed with a promise to myself to be up early, down to one of those coffee houses for breakfast and then on the road for a ong day in the saddle.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb