The beginning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A friend of mine told me about this website. So far, I think that it's going to be very useful to me in keeping in touch with my friends and family here at home in Michigan.

I guess being the first entry I should just introduce the whole purpose for going to Australia for me.

It is required for me to complete an internship to graduate with my BA of Science in Athletic Training/Sports Medicine. They have over 40 internship sites we can use, most of which are in Michigan. There are a couple in California, Florida, Georgia, Alabama and Pennsylvania. Outside of athletic training, I've been getting really restless. I have always wanted to travel the world and go exploring, and just see what else is out there. Australia just happened to be at the top of my list and I was really really thinking about how I could make it happen with all of my responsibilities and committments to school. So I decided to try and set up my own internship in AUS.

Well, go figure, they changed the policies right before the semester where I needed to start the paper work. The entire summer leading up to that semester I had worked so hard to find ATC's in AUS (it's not a profession over there). I had sent out countless emails. I finally had even found a fella who wanted to work with me to make it happen (just one!). So determined not to have wasted all that time I sought out other way's to make this dream a reality.

At first, I was just going to buy a plane ticket and go there no holds barred- no commitments, just go and work with this guy and see what happened. But then I heard of Study Abroad. I met with them to see if what I had in mind was feasible.... and to make a long story short- I am going to AUS! Perth, to be exact. And I will be studying/working at Murdoch University.

I can't even describe how fulfilling it is to have made this happen. Even all of the work that went into it (which at the time seemed tedious and repetitive) doesn't seem like it was so bad now.

So, I'm leaving May 8th from Michigan. I'll be there for ~8 weeks. And I'll be back in the US around July 10th.

I am going to try to update this journal with pictures and adventure stories along the way so I can keep in touch and keep you all updated as much as possible.


Best,
Megan

Advertisement



11th April 2008

Proud
Wow Sissy the time is almost here and we are as proud of you as we can be. We are also excited for you do deserve this you are a hard worker and when you set a goal you do what it takes to achieve it.
30th April 2008

Congratulations!
Megan, We are sooo excited for you to be headed to the '"LAND DOWN UNDER". You may know it's a favorite of ours and you will absolutely love your time there! The Aussies are very friendly toward Americans and very helpful, should you need anything. Perth is one of the places we haven't been, but hear it is beautiful. I actually have a cousin living near there with his Aussie wife. We are proud of you....even if we aren't "family". We'll love to keep up with your experience. Safe travels and God Bless.
1st May 2008

amazing
hey meg i am very excited and proud of you, i know you will do great. i know i dont see or talk to you much but you are always in my heart and my thoughts. have a safe trip and have fun. i love you very much. aunt chrissy
8th May 2008

HAPPY FOR YOU!
MEGAN, I JUST WANTED TO TELL YOU HOW PROUD I AM OF YOU. I ALWAYS NEW YOU WOULD GO FAR, I HOPE YOU HAVE SO MUCH FUN THERE AND LEARN AS MUCH AS YOU CAN THIS IS SO COOL! I HOPE KOURTNI WILL GO AND DO AS WELL AS YOU HAVE. HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON. LOVE YOU, AUNT CHRIS

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb