February 29th - First Day of the journey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Kalamazoo
February 29th 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Howdy everyone - Benji here! Thot I should report in on our day!
Boy did they get me up early! They really had to bribe me to get me to come out of my spot under the table, where I was sleeping. But a wiener was all it took! And then I also heard those magic letters--C-A-R!!! That will do it every time!!
Anyway, after a quick stop at Tim's for guess what - yup, my Timbits (of course my masters got a coffee and a small treat), we were on our way.
We drove to the border in Sarnia, where my master had to register some electronic equipment giving me a chance to have a pit stop and enjoy nosing around in the snow. Then it was over the bridge into Michigan. I was such a hit at the border, that the customs agent came out of his booth and petted me for a bit, before waving my masters through!
Now I must point out that just over the bridge is my masters' favourite US restaurant - Cracker Barrel! So of course, they had to stop there for breakfast! I on the other hand stayed in my backseat with my little bowls of dry food and water. Does this picture seem right?
As we were leaving, my master texted "Uncle" Phil and discovered he was in Michigan on his way back to Port Huron. And guess what? After a little confusion over highway numbers, we met up with him for lunch at McDonalds at Flint!! BTW, that's me and "Uncle" Phil by his truck. He just joined the trucker's team with TST Expediters and so it was neat to catch up with him on the road!!
Then it was off to our motel - the Red Roof in Kalamazoo, MI! and boy did we hit it right!! We are the first to occupy a new business king room for the night! Special eh? Must be because I was along with them!! Right? I sure do have a lot of room to move about and several places to sleep under!
Boy did my master ever have to be careful on the roads between Port Huron and Flint, and even a little before we left Ontario. You can tell by the pictures that it was a very slippery morning!!
After resting up a bit - catch me under the bed! - the masters went for supper. They found this place called Rykes (pronounced Rick-sees). Now you just have a look at what they ate and then catch me and my margarine dishes with lamb and rice- again! Lamb and rice for breakfast - lamb and rice for lunch - lamb and rice for supper!! Oh well, it is a dog's life after all! At least there is plenty of lamb and rice for me! And then there are the Tim-bits! My master said he would share his bedtime muffin with me too!
Anyway, I guess that is a wrap for today! In the morning we head for Rockford, Illinois - not too bad a trip. Will let you know how it unfolds tomorrow night.
Love ya a bunch! Bow-wow for now!
Benji


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb