School


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
August 23rd 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Another day of truck driving school. Ugh, the law says I have to take 120 hour refresher class because I've been off the road for over 2 years. I'm not learning anything new, just treading water till it's time to drive to Kansas. Speaking of KS> I talked to Transam yesterday, they are delighted I'm coming back. I left with a smile & a hand shake 3 years ago & was not worried about a re-hire. well, not TOO worried.

They have made a couple of great changes in my absence, 1: they now pay .44 cents per mile fuel surcharge to help offset the rising cost of fuel. 2: they now offer a breakdown insurance policy, $7.50 a week & I'm covered on my truck payment if I break down. The truck payment is almost $100 a day so even if I break down for 1 day that's more that the insurance for the entire month. Good deal!!

My business went under for 2 reasons, 1 fuel cost went sky high after Katrina & I broke down 3 times in the 2 months following Katrina. Put these 2 cost together & I went from bringing home $1,000+ a week to OWING $1,000+ a week. It didn't take long before my bottom line was so far from sight that getting back to being in the black would take me working for free for a month & a 1/2. Hence the decision to go "home" & drive local.

I'm spending man hours a day trying to recall all the things I need for living out of a truck. Flip flops for the showers at the truck stops. (never put your bare feet on those nasty floors) Warm & cold whether clothes. More than once I woke up in Florida wearing shorts & a tank top & went to bed in 2 feet of snow near the Canada border. A long, heave piece of pipe for hookers & crack heads. D.O.T. won't let truckers carry guns or knives & the crack heads know that :-(
If you think of anything I ma need on the road leave a comment.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb