Detroit


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
April 13th 2008
Published: April 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another short night. 7 a.m. load in in Detroit, about 20 minutes from where we’re staying. Kyle said he had a surprise for me in the truck; I was hoping it was a puppy, but it was donuts, which was my second choice. Union house, but much more like the one I’m used to. Comfortable. Good guys. When shows come to Spokane, it is often said that we have a lot of women. But that’s always been normal for me; there’s always at least on women wherever I am. The last a few houses have had none, except maybe one for costumes.

We played in a beautiful symphony hall today, very limited on space and tech, but great acoustics. Not nearly a full load in, but it still took a while. Kyle had the equivalent of a full rig, so he was a little pressed for time. But we do like 3 o’clock shows! Driving home at 7:30, after having a long dinner at the venue. While we were eating, the kids started teaching us new phrases in Luganda. I learned “chicken” and “this chicken is good” and various greetings. Auntie Harriet decided that every time we eat with them we should learn a new word. I like that idea. The kids always laugh when I use words in their language, but they’re helpful in teaching me to say them correctly.

While I was micing Stella for the show, she kept telling me over and over that her costume did not fit well, it was too small, does she have to wear all the pieces?... I’m looking at her thinking, “Have you ever seen me do anything with costumes even once? What am I supposed to do about it?!?” I told her to ask Sarah.

Fun story. If I were to bring one kid home, it would me one of the older boys and our main drummer, Martie. He’s 12 and a kick in the pants. Kind of a punk, sometimes, but he’s smart and there’s a lot of leadership in him. He knows he’s the big brother and as such, it is his job to help the little ones learn what they need to know. A few days ago, he hit his leg on something, just a hair below his knee, and got quite the bump. He was showing me (like I ever have anything to do with things like that!) and said it hurts. “What do you want me to do? I’ll cut it off for you, if you’d like.” I showed him I’d cut just above his knee to just below it. His response… “Ok Auntie. You can cut it off. But I will cut yours off first.” Oh my. Wasn’t expecting that. He’s our best drummer, really steady knows what he’s doing. (I’m continually in awe of how fast these kids can move their hands!) But he drums in all the songs; he’s not one of the singers. He sings along because he’s told to, but that’s not nearly his strongsuit. Today, one of the younger boys asked if he was the best drummer, which is where I started listening. “No, it is Mark and then Paul and then me. They both sing. And Auntie said the best drummers first are singers, then are drummers. I do not sing, so they are better than me.” Elijah kept saying he didn’t care about singing, only about drumming (which makes Martie the best) but Martie kept insisting that the others are better. It was fun to hear. He’s one I’m anxious to keep tabs on and hear what he does with his life, and how he makes a difference in his community. Also, sadly, I could see him easily (if it weren’t for the Choir) have becoming one of the child soldiers we see in the pictures, and letting it all run off his back. Being rather nonchalant about it.

I’m fairly on top of doing my quiet time each morning, and I like that morning spot better than my usual evening because I’m not so tired, therefore less likely to skip, but I’m noticing, and not happy about, the fact that I read and pray and go to work and it’s hours before I acknowledge God again or think about what I read. I wish (and pray) that I could get better at that reliance thing during the day and keeping Him more present in my mind.

It snowed more today. Horizontally, and faster than I’ve ever seen it blow! I passed out shortly after arriving at the hotel tonight and woke up only to ice my legs and get this posted, then going back to bed. Tomorrow is another travel day. Back to Wisconsin, which means I-90. I keep telling them we should just keep heading west, but no one thinks that’s a good idea. I like being on I-90, because somehow it’s familiar. The tour is wrapping up quickly, only 13 more shows, I think.

Advertisement



14th April 2008

icey legs
Hey does the ice stick to the hair? bring at least two of the drummers home with you. That way you can share with your brother. See ya soon, DAVE

Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.2516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb