What Today Will Be Called


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
April 12th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

East Lansing was good to us. Union crew was pretty decent, know what was going on and eager to help- always good. Everything went pretty well. The man who focused the lights was called Jim, and I thought he was calling me “Sir” all day, but turns out he was calling me “Sarah.” (I didn’t figure this out until load out when we said “Sarah” while she was with me.) That was really the only funny thing.

When I was micing the kids for the show, Kyle and I both started putting random extra pieces of tape on Stella’s face, then I let her put it on mine. “Auntie, your face is soft.” I told her that Uncle Kyle’s beard is soft and she should pet it often. And in sound check, Suzan was pushing her head against my arm, and I was pushing back. “Auntie! You are pink!” As the skin where she was pushing got red. “Do you get pink?” “No, Auntie…. Does my hair hurt you?” They are so funny when it comes to difference mazungu things. Soft hair, curls, pink skin…

When they opened the dock for load out, IT WAS SNOWING! HOW EXCITED WAS JAMI!!! SO MUCH! It didn’t snow much, but it was still fun to run around in. Then a drive. Our room are always under Anne, Sarah, Beth and Kyle. Beth’s is always the double. Apparently I’m the only one who picked up on that, and she checked in. The receptionist dude, who was NOT Andre the Cage Fighter, was adamant that he had to have Sarah’s ID to check us into Sarah’s room. Oh my. She was in the truck. So we waited. Anne went to her room, but I waited with Beth, who was not in a chipper mood. Sarah and Kyle arrived and now we’re in our rooms. Up in 4 hours! Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb