Week 6 camp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
July 18th 2005
Published: August 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Aussie boysAussie boysAussie boys

Top little fellas!
AUSSIE, AUSSIE, AUSSIE… OYE,OYE,OYE was herd all around the camp this week! This week’s theme was countries and me n Mel (a local) had the Australian group. I would yell aussie, aussie, aussie and they had to yell oye,oye,oye back and come over to me and listen to what I had to tell them and it worked real good!

This week we had 18 little boys 5-7 yrs and RICHARD ( the autistic kid)again!! I also had PM care this week so me n Liz ( a local) had to look after kids that get picked up as late as 6:30. But we would go get a snack then go swimming and play on the sports court so it wasn’t too bad.

The Friday before mum sent me a qantas vegemite pack and a jar of vegemite (thanks Terry it was great). So for this week’s skit we did the happy little vegemite song.
For the theme day on Friday we had an activity of each country group Russia, Denmark, Mexico and Oz. So for my activity I set up a table with a world map, the flag, photos and mums postcards of home and told them a bit
Aussie ActivityAussie ActivityAussie Activity

This was my theme day activity that I came up with the day before!
about the best country in the world.

Then I set up some poles and explained A.F.L to them and using gridiron balls had them practice hand passing and kicking for goal. And I was ref behind the posts with the how big? 2 hands or the 1 for the behind, they loved it. Then for the ones that got sick of A.F.L I had aussie find a word and a maze photocopied from the vegemite activity book (nice 1 terry). At the end I had some bread and butter and gave them a try of some vegemite, most didn’t like it but some did and 1 girl loved it and wanted me to send her a jar!

This week was a bit tough but thinking about going to see Ben Harper on Friday kept me goin. Later



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Happy little vegemitesHappy little vegemites
Happy little vegemites

The happy little vegemites song @ the talent show.


3rd September 2005

Ah- yes.
I remember when you took the group photo. I was busy freaking out about Richard because no one told me that his parents picked him up. Mhmm. I miss camp and the good times we all had. Well, hope to see you soon in Canada. -Where I can finally drink... legally! <3 Mel

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb