Week 1 camp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
June 19th 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ontario boysOntario boysOntario boys

This is my group of boys for week 1 and Charles from Africa, another counselor.
I started off the first day, week 1 with Am care, which is 2 staff members are assigned to look after any kids that get dropped to camp as early as 6:50am. But it was pretty good because we ( me and Gabby a Mexican chick) only had 4 kids and they arrived a bit before 8 so we had breakfast with them and played a few games and then the other kids arrived.

Then we would raise the flag and the kids would do the pledge allegiance and then we would go off to our activities in our groups.
There were 2 counselors to each group of kids and me and Kirsten (a local) got a group of boys aged 6-9 yrs. They weren't too bad but they loved to fight and screw around.
First up I took a canoe class for an hour, then I took 2 swimming lessons. We would have lunch with our groups in the dinning hall and then our group would have an activity (sport or practicing our skit for Thursdays talent show). Then I finished the day doing lifeguard for free swim and taking the kids to the sports court to catch the
CanoesCanoesCanoes

This is my canoeing area where I spend a bit of time teaching kids to canoe but mostly just paddling around the lake watching them.
bus or get picked up.

Everyday was pretty much the same except Thursday (the sleep over night). At night we are supposed to have our talent show at the campfire outside. But it rained all day, so it was wet and muddy and we did it inside. We'd sing a few songs (the evil ones that get stuck in your head). Then each group would do thier skit for the talent show, my boys did a skit called my hands are your hands. Me, Kirsten and 2 boys stood behind a table hands behind backs and 4 others behind us with thier arms in front of us. Then the kids doing the arms made jam (or should I say jelly) on bread while the front person did the talking and then the arms fed it to the body, jam skwished all over the face and up the nose! pretty funny!

Then we went to the cabins and to bed and sleep, ha! no chance! Screaming, flicking the lights on and off and running around playing Star wars with torch as light saber! After a bit of home sickness finally to sleep.
The next thing I know I'm woken
The lakeThe lakeThe lake

1 of the views from the camp.
to "Aaron, Aaron I was sick" I look at this kid and he is covered in bright red chunky spew. So I go over to survey the scene and this kids bed, pillow and sleeping bag are covered in this vile smellin spew. So we go have a shower, change, give him my spare pillow and switch beds. All sweet, 2am back to sleep! It seemed like a moment later "Aaron, Aaron I need to go to the bathroom" we go and its all good and then its 7am and Friday morning has arrived and breakfast with lots of coffee.

I can't wait to see what next Thursday night will bring!
Later



Advertisement



28th June 2005

looks good aaron what is the best time to ring you? email soon dad
7th July 2005

Hey why don't you replie our comments
hey aaron, its andrew rebetzke from mount morgan state high school why aren't you writingback our comments

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb