First time skiing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Boyne Falls
January 6th 2013
Published: January 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After two weeks of scouring second hand shops for cross country skis, Ava and I had finally pieced together a set for each of us. Today was a beautiful, sunny Northern Michigan day. We headed to Gaylord, Michigan and hit a groomed trail. Ava took to skiing like a duck to water. It took her a few minutes to figure out her poles, but I was really happy to see how well she did. Then she fell... once... twice... three times... four times... and never got discouraged. She used the poles to push herself off the ground and never crossed her skis.

On the way back, I noticed the front of her left shoe peeling back. Unfortunately, about a tenth of a mile from the car, her ski boot peeled completely from the sole. We ended up walking back to the car with me carrying all the skis and poles. I did order her new skis last week, but they haven't come in yet. I told myself that I would just buy the used skis and see how she likes skiing before making an investment. But she loves it! And I think that I will make the investment knowing that.
For the video, see:
">


Advertisement



Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb