Housey Travel Agency


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Birmingham
June 25th 2014
Published: July 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.5459, -83.2155

I have been spending the last couple of months planning, finalizing, searching and booking the last of the hotels, sites and activities we will be doing on our trip out west. I really enjoy searching for the perfect location to stay that fits the place and mood we are looking for. It's a challenge for me. Recently, I booked our white water rafting and horse back riding trip in Yellowstone. Doesn't that sound perfect in Yellowstone? We will be there for 5 days. I have been using Roadtrippers app to find unique sites to see along our route. Omaha and Iowa are at the end of our trip. I have no idea what to do in those states. I do know there is going to be a lot of driving for sure. Movie marathon? I ordered a Yellowstone and a Badlands movie to watch in route.

So far, according to Roadtrippers.com, we will be driving 4000 miles (not including within Yellowstone and the Badlands) and 62 hours of driving from one location to another. That's doable...I think. Eeesh. It is actually very different to road trip explore and stop along the way than it is just driving from point A to point B. We happen to drive the whole alphabet; point A to point B to point C and so on. I wonder what letter we'd end up on.

Strangely, we Americans will plan a trip to Europe and travel open-ended from one new location (city and/or country) to the next inviting any new adventures, people and good eats. But, we don't often do that here in the good ol' U.S of A. You'd be surprised how great our own country is. The small towns, the big cities, the coastlines, the mountain peaks and the food is just as diverse and exciting and enriching as other places in the world. Why do you think they come here? Foreigners know more about our country than we do. Shame on us.

We are getting very excited for our trip. We have a true understanding that the direction we are going this year will be completely different than the East Coast we traveled last year and we welcome the adventure out west. We look forward to more good times, bad times and those in between that all create memories to last a lifetime.

The rest of this month, I will start planning the
Sturgis Motorcycle RallySturgis Motorcycle RallySturgis Motorcycle Rally

This is the event that caused me to change my route. Not my bag baby.
kid's learning packets, I have to decide how we will pack for the diverse weather we will encounter, get their stuff ready for school because we return right before school starts, get the van tuned up and....figure out what else I need to do. Check back as we get closer to ROADTRIP 2014!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb