Breakfast in Indy, lunch in Washington DC, supper in Manchester-by-the-Sea


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts
January 15th 2010
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Massachusetts
The transformation is nearly complete: normal clothes have been shed, the laptop is no longer needed, and I appear in my glorious bright red waterproof jacket with a blue and black rucksack sprouting from my shoulders. Lo, the backpacker flies via Washington to Boston. I don´t think it really counts as backpacking, though, if you´re kipping at your second-cousin-twice-removed´s place in Manchester-by-the-Sea.

It was wonderful to see Ailsa, as always, and we spent our time nattering away over meals, her three-legged Puerto Rican miniature poodle and a broken-down car. The latter was on the road to the pretty town of Newburyport to visit an old friend of Ailsa´s whose mum used to work with Great Aunt Mary. I spent a bit of time in snowy Boston and visited Cambridge too. Boulia later asked me if I´d seen in Harvard the famous bells which had been brought from Russia. Apparently, Russia asked for them back, Harvard returned them in return for replicas, and Boulia´s choir sand at their unveiling. Anyway, I didn´t see the bells. That day Ailsa and I met her son, Arthur, for dinner in Beacon Hill and he gave me some good tips for places to visit in Argentina.

While I was coming back from the "bathroom", as they call it here, I overheard this intriguing snippet from another table: "..so she became a stripper to pay for it."



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



16th January 2010

that snippet you heard... it must be a premonition about my career prospoects as that's looking more and more like a good option to me!!
21st January 2010

Did you like singing beach then?
All looks purty and sounds exciting.
23rd January 2010

Singing Beach
Yes, it goes like this: # Beach, beach, beach, beach, be-e-e-e-e-e-a-a-CH! #

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb