Hoosier Daddy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

NYE 2009NYE 2009NYE 2009

Dora and Phillip at Crackers Comedy Club on New Year's Eve.
Hotel Bowskill
Mr and Mrs Bowskill put me up for ten days in their cat´s home. Sorry, I mean, in their lovely home. (They´ve got three cats with whom they are totally in love.) Their house is very nice and spacious and they´re doing lots to it. Plenty of room for visitors! Did I also mention that Dora is a wonderful cook (doesn´t tend to burn stuff any more)? In fact, as apparently is their wont, Dora and Phillip fed me loads of lovely gorgeous food until my pyjamas split.

Indianapolis is not like anywhere I´ve ever been before, but apparently it´s quite common for the Mid-West (should that be hyphenated? Caps or no caps?) The downtown area which looks like a normal city seemed to be to be pretty small and it is surrounded firstly, I´m told, by a bad doughnut, and then by very suburban areas which actually do count as the city (correct me if I´m wrong, Indy folk). These suburban areas seem to mainly consist of freeways and strip malls (Exeter folk, think Marsh Barton trading estate only a much bigger scale and with a motorway or two going through it). We visited two rather nice
Couple of crackersCouple of crackersCouple of crackers

Dora and Phillip saw something they'd rather they hadn't.
exceptions to this - Broad Ripple and Zionsville (the Bowlbys live there and we visited them too) - and I´m looking forward to checking them out again in October.

Dora and Phillip live near a lovely big park area called Eagle Creek where a bunch of deer live, but as it was super cold (never really warmer than -7C, I think) we didn´t venture out for a walk. Even in the chapsly weather, I didn´t need to dress in Berlin layers because everything happens indoors and you drive everywhere. They even have drive-through ATMs. If one was the type to indulge in terrible wordplay, one might suggest that "Indy" is short for "indoors". As you know, that´s not really me.

The rest of Indy in summary: we watched all of LOTR director´s cut, mostly on New Year´s Day, Dora and Phillip took me to an "English" pub where we watched Ultimate Fighting, Phillip makes really red cars, I still don´t know where the word "hoosier" comes from.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Red RobinRed Robin
Red Robin

Here, Dora is channelling the Red Robin, apparently.
Best pool team everBest pool team ever
Best pool team ever

Dora had to hold my specs up so I could see the ball.
Very snowy todayVery snowy today
Very snowy today

Dora and Phillip's back garden.


16th January 2010

ha!
Nice update, Ems. Lovely to see photos of you and D too - thanks! Have fun in BA Baracus! xxxxxxxxxxxx
16th January 2010

Cats' home
Cats' home sounds good, perhaps Kato would like it when we go to Greece. Enjoy BA. Lots of love Mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
21st January 2010

my comments
Just found your blog updates in my junk box! ooooops. Was wondering why I hadn't heard from you. Glad to hear all is well and that you're still alive, your updates are very amusing, keep 'em coming Em. xxx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb