MVP Training!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts
August 28th 2005
Published: August 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Group PhotoGroup PhotoGroup Photo

Here we are!Rob, Jonathon K., Chris, John D., Sr. Catia, Sr. Lupe, Meaghan, Julie, Megan G., Kerry, Aaron, Me at Bishops Hall, Framingham, MA
Hola!

I hope everyone is doing well! I have survived my first week of training with MVP. Let me tell ya, I really struggled to survive. The nine other volunteers and I had a great time getting to know each other. We stayed at “Bishops Hall” a retreat center/ retired priest’s center (much like the spiritual life center only very old) in Framingham, Massachusetts. We spent most of our days learning about the history of the Marist Family (the priests, sisters, brothers, and laity). Every night we had free time starting at about 7-8pm. The weather here is perfect. Not too hot, or cold. Perhaps somewhere around upper 70’s lower 80’s, and NO HUMIDITY!!!!! I am going to post a picture of the other volunteers and me in my gallery.
Here is a little bit about the other volunteers:
Meaghan Awugah (my Jamaican buddy) is from Maine, went to Stonehill College, graduated in 2004, volunteered with Holy Cross Associates last year.
Rob Duke from Delaware went to Catholic University of America in DC and is volunteering in Mexico.
Johnathon Duff from Massachusetts went to Boston College and will be volunteering in San Francisco
Aaron Cotter from NYC-Bronx went to Fordham Univ and will be in San Francisco.
Chris Gurski from New Jersey went to Rutgers Univ and will be teaching in New Jersey.
Jonathon Kovis from Washington, volunteered with MVP last year, played football for Univ of Wash- Seattle, and will be in Esopus, New York.
Kerry McCormick from NYC-Queens, graduated from Providence College, and is going to Peru.
Julie Abdelahad from Mass., went to Providence College, and is going to Peru.
Megan Gore from Fresno, CA/Dallas, TX went to Providence College, and is going to Chicago.

Back to Orientation…I was a little nervous when starting this program that all of the other volunteers would be uber conservative. However, I was need not be afraid. The other volunteers were normal college students that led normal lives. Thank goodness!

Last night, was my first night living in a convent! My convent is called the “Grove Street” convent (It’s located on Grove Street). It can house 9 sisters…however, there are four sisters living there plus Meaghan and I. The weirdest thing about the convent is that there are bathrooms everywhere!!! There are 6 or 7 bathrooms in the house. Currently I have a full bath to myself. I have handle bars on the toilet just in case I can’t get up!😊 Actually, most of the bathrooms have handle bars. The house kind of smells like old people…but what do you really expect! We have a washing machine and dryer, dishwasher, and dial up internet. The house is very retro in a sense…lots of 70’s furniture. Meaghan thinks there is a liquor cabinet in the storage closet next to the rice krispies. There is lots of food in the house and Sr. Maria likes to make homemade bread…whoohoo!


Advertisement



29th August 2005

liquor cabinet!!
Oh my gosh nancy! You are so funny, i would never have even thought that a liquor cabinet existed in a convent!! I feel like I learn so much from you... Glad you like it there though, love ya!!
3rd September 2005

I am so glad to have the peace of mind that if u ever get stuck in the toilet you can pull yourself up! That was always my biggest fear! lol Have fun!
4th September 2005

toilets and alcohol
kelsey has a point; im glad you can pull yourself off the toilet after finding the liquor cabinet! love ya, miss ya, good thing we dont drive anymore! ebk
6th September 2005

NY
Jill told me you were in NY...what are you doing there? Training? We get new carpet tomorrow.. Yeah. Miss you and hope you are welll. Loveya
6th September 2005

who'd have thunk?
6th September 2005

Is the liquor cabinet locked? Maybe they have a really good rice krispie treat recipe! Keep us posted, Nancy. Sounds like you're having a good time! Love ya!

Tot: 0.436s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.3334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb