Just Random Thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Waltham
September 8th 2005
Published: September 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Grove Street ConventGrove Street ConventGrove Street Convent

This is where I live!
Today is a Marian feast day. That means the Marist sisters celebrate a little more than usual. The only difference was we had wine at lunch and we had to get up early for Morning Prayer (6:45AM). Usually, we pray in the afternoon on Thursdays. Anyway, I thought I would tell a couple things that I found interesting. First, the Franciscan priests that live across the street and take a vow of poverty, have a flatscreen TV in their kitchen, as well as a big screen TV in the living room, and have salted cashews all over the house. I’m not quite sure they understood poverty…however, they are very kind priests and good company though. Another new thing for me is eating with actual SILVERware every day at lunch. The sisters use their silver daily. We hand wash it after lunch. I don’t really understand why anyone would want real SILVERware…it requires a lot more maintenance, and I’m sure costs more. What do sisters need silver for anyway?

Enough of that negative attitude. I’m having a great time and I’m enjoying MASS. I read in the paper this morning that Boston is the most expensive city in America. I have really spent any money here so I would really be able to compare. Gas prices are currently running anywhere from $3.29-$3.59 here. I’m not sure what they are elsewhere.

Oh, I also bought my plane tickets! I will be leaving here on Sept. 19th. It only takes about 5-6hrs to get to Jamaica from Boston, with a layover in Miami.

On a lighter note, My parents are having new carpet installed in the upstairs portion of my house. Ernie, our dog, was put in the storage room to stay away from the Carpet layers. Before I left home, I told my parents about the bugs I was seeing in the basement so we got sticky bug sheets…to catch the bugs. Anyway, sometime during the day Ernie got himself stuck to the bug sheet. My dad came home to find one of the sheets stuck to the floor with dog hair all over it. I laugh when I think about how Ernie released himself.


Advertisement



10th September 2005

I'm Stuck
I hadn't heard that story about ernie! I'll have to call and ask dad about it!
11th September 2005

Seriously! the ernie isnt all that interesting lol everyone is making a big deal about it. but dont ask me to tell the story cuz when i tell it then it just sounds boring lol hope your having a good time
16th September 2005

me again
oh nancy, you sound wonderful. Just in case I dont get the email out, call me if you remember the phone number. i know you leave soon! take care, im so excited to hear from you. Miss ya

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb