Samuel Adams and the Beehive


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
March 23rd 2017
Published: August 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I was up very early again this morning since my first class was at 7am. That meant lots of coffee. Lots and lots. I had a movement disorder class to keep me awake. Or keep awake for. Also, I was finally catching the cold Chris and Arya had earlier in the week. So I'll be hunting for meds on my break. Oddly enough, I had a pretty long midday break. They were doing chapter meetings or something so I had like four hours to kill. So David and Cory joined me after my first few morning classes to go out to the Samuel Adams Brewery for a tour. We met at the T station closest to our studio- they actually picked me up some meds to save time. (So grateful). When we got there, I found out the tour itself is free but they accept donations to three local charities. Pretty awesome!

The guide walked us through a few different rooms- it's not a big place. This brewery is more of their creative side where they come up with new brews. All the major production of beer happens elsewhere. We learned about the ingredients and looked at the big metal machines (no idea what they're called) and then got to the part of the tour everyone really wanted- the tastings! We got to try a few different small glasses of beer. I loved the Fresh as Helles! I bought Chris a couple beers at the gift shop, one was a sour since he'd recently gotten into those.

After the tour, and being mildly buzzed, we parted ways and I headed back to a too long afternoon of classes that didn't get out until 7pm. Such a long day! And since it was my last day with David and Cory, we went out to a jazz dinner club that evening called The Beehive. I had quickly run back to the studio after class to change into better clothes, pre-game with the boys and then walk over to the club. This place was incredibly awesome. Old brick meets industrial meets elegant decor. In the center of the place was a stage where they played live music, and singing- it was visible from a mostly bar only top floor via a screen or looking down if you were close enough, or by sitting in the main dining room like we did. We wanted to try too many of the different dishes they offered, so we did it tapas style. Ordered a lot of small plates and shared. The food was amazing. =) The soulful singing more so. I was so grateful we had Cory to show us all these gems on this trip, and for the time I got to spend with the two of them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th August 2017
The Brew Room

Tough work
Glad you are enjoying all the sights.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb