Goodbye, Amsterdam (the finally final blog posts)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
September 11th 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Boston! It's been a long time. 12 flights, 12 destinations, 2 months, 2 sicknesses, 9 countries, and 9 airlines. What a trip, though.


Last night, we took it a bit easy, since we had to finish packing and be out by 10. We went to a nearby restaurant for dinner, then went bowling at an alley right next to the hotel. This morning was just as simple: get up, pack, and get out.



We went straight to the airport, where we got breakfast, checked in, found the gate, and hung out until the flights left. It turns out that, for some reason, Icelandair has 2 flights to Boston out of Reykjavik: one at 17:00, and one at 17:25. This is the only city that even had two flights on their departure screen. Anyway, it turns out that I ended up on a different flight out of Reykjavik than the rest of the group. Unsurprising, since I booked it through a travel agency (it was an alternate flight home from my Dialogue), and just told them to put me on a flight to Boston at the same time out of Amsterdam as the group. So we flew together the first leg, but as I write this on the plane, I'm alone. On the flip side, I get in a bit earlier than them, which will be nice for the sake of getting to sleep earlier.



According to my internal clock, it's currently 10:30 at night. According to Boston's time, it's 4:30 in the afternoon. Shockingly, I've been more awake at 4:30 before.



I'm due to arrive around 6:00 local time, where I'm planning to meet up with one of my friends who is flying in from Munich and landing at almost exactly the same time. She and I will go pick up my brother, whose bus gets in at the same time as well, after which we'll go out to dinner. I need to hang around in Boston until I can pick up a few things from my apartment for the weekend, then my brother and I will head up to New Hampshire. Technically, I suppose, one could say I'll still be on my trip at that point, but it's certainly different than Europe. And it was tacked on only a week or two ago. However, Monday, I will be back undisputedly, and if there's anything I can't wait for, it's a large, comfortable bed that my body knows and that I have to myself. Also a normal shower. Europe has weird showers.



Despite this being the end of my trip, this is not the end of my blog. I'm putting together a list of the best and worst of everything, so stay tuned for one more post!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb