Day 8 - Leaving England for Boston USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
December 9th 2009
Published: June 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I guess if you travel, one thing you have to be mindful of is making sure if you wash clothes that you have enough time to get them dried. Our clothes from the washing trip a few days ago, had been wet last night, so me and my big ideas decided to turn the heater right up so they could all dry so they could be nicely packed for our flight to the states this morning.

I woke up heavily overheated and felt like I was going to vomit. Joel went down and had breakfast by himself, I just felt so ill. I think my head was stuck out the window as I tried to bring my core body temperature down and fast. I skipped breakfast altogether, I was not confident at all that my stomach contents would stay down. Due to this fact and wanting to make sure I wasn't rushed, we did leave after everything was slowly completed straight for the airport. Our flight was to leave at 12:15pm and we were flying American Airlines. I was nervous enough about that, let alone having to cope with being sick as well.

Catching the train from Kings Cross Station to Heathrow was a touch sad. I did love the tube and all things London and honestly, going to America was never on my list of things to do, and it was just an insanity moment that I thought, if I was allowed out of the country, I might as well see as much of the world as I could all at the one go, incase I wasn't allowed out to play anymore! I thought being out of our overheated room things would settle down, but the longer I was on the train the sicker I was feeling. My stomach was just working overtime, and by the time the train finally arrived at the Heathrow platform, my gagging had commence. It was the most horrific and embarrassing thing. There were alot of people jumping off the train, and all headed one direction, I grabbed my suitcase and yelled at Joel, and we raced the other direction. Thankfully we made it just around the corner of I dont know what it was, but it was out of view and my entire bile content of my stomach splattered across the platform floor. Now I have to admit, and it probably sounds really bad, but it did cross my mind I should get Joel to take a photo of me buckled over. I mean really, how often can someone claim they have chucked up all over the airports train station? I opted against the photo option, and started freaking out. With the hysteria that was present around the world over over the grand 2009 flu pandemic, nicknamed Swine Flu, I was petrified they would realise I was sick and wouldn't let me on the plane. We had to think fast.

First thing was removing ourselves from the site of the vomit. We did inform the information desk that I had had the most unfortunate mishap on the platform, stating my nerves about flying had gotten the better of me. Well, it was part nerves, and thats the story I was going to be sticking to. We then found a bathroom so that I could wash up, and swallow some paracetamol so I could reduce the temperature that was over taking my body. We waited a bit before checking our bags in. They didn't look at me much, so it all worked fine. When we tried to gain entrance into the "inner" sanctum of the airport otherwise known as the behind the mystery doors and duty free section, we were informed we were too early and would have to wait. Sitting outside was the ideal option. Especially for how cold England was.

I do love airports. Seeing all the people coming and going, like a grand central station, was my type of people watching. Inside Joel and myself found it highly amusing people watching as people left loved ones to be absorbed behind those mystery doors and the way people were crying, it really looked like they would never return.

We were finally permitted to join everyone else on the "other" side. It was like be admitted to the secret club of people who were all exciting and about to do something awfully exciting. Unfortunately my body didn't want to join the party, so we basically sat around til we found out which gate we were to board at, and make out way to rest very easy to be permitted to get onto the plane.

The gate that we were waiting at must have been for American Airlines planes, because there was a Ben & Jerry's icecream dispenser machine. If it hadn't been broken I would have allowed Joel to buy one. There was no way I was going to put milk in my already protesting stomach. I had bought some water earlier, because it needed a new lining as it was. I also thought it was cute that there was a book dispenser as well. I guess Australia really is behind the times. We only have soft drink or lolly machines back at home.

When we finally boarded, Joel was somewhat disappointed that the average age group of the air hostess's was in fact about 10 years above that of the Virgin Airlines crew. He didn't need to be disappointed however as their service and attention to him was amazing, and he felt completely looked after in the end. Almost like having a younger grandma take care of you. Ok so the girls were maybe up 30's to 40's but I'm only about 20 aren't I?

Onboard the plane, I had to love that in their shopping magazine was a page dedicated to all things Harry Potter. Oh what a type of heaven that was for me. I so wanted to buy one of his wands, but didn't. It was a nice distraction from the presenting problem of my stomach. Thankfully we were provided with a soft drink and nibbles, which did help settle everything a small amount. It was quite sad looking out of the window and seeing the edge of Ireland. Or at least I assume it was Ireland. I thought, its probably too late to get off now, so I was stuck going to the States.

Lunch was some chicken, with salad. There was also a chocolately dessert. I didn't eat too much of it. I wanted to eat a small amount so I wasn't sick from hunger, but not too much that I was then throwing up on the plane. That would just be way too much, especially with how small those toilets were!

Before long we were gifted with the sight of the Canadian Mountains. At least I assumed they were mountains. There was snow and it just looked beautiful. I so wanted to scream out, please drop me off here. It did look a touch deserted though. Canada has always been a place I've wanted to go, but unfortunately this wouldn't be the time for it.

Upon entering the USA air space you couldn't see a thing. Clouds covered the whole view, and I joked that the homeland security really has stepped up big time, protecting its nation by not allowing aerial photographs anymore. I should have realised that it would then mean a miserable day in Boston. We landed around 3pm and it was so miserable out. It was almost a ghost town of an airport, and I was just shocked at the lack of people anywhere. I found an ATM and withdrew some funds, and then had the freaking out as to what to do when the tipping part of going to America came into play. I was so scared about it and that I would get beaten up, because I still dont understand why if I pay for something, I then have to tip the person for giving it to me. Just a completely different world.

We found a taxi driver easily enough, but he was a bundle of sunshine - not. Probably the grumpiest man on earth at that given time, and defintely not the friendliest. I mean seriously if you dont want to lift suitcases into a taxi, dont be parked at an airport! That being said, he didn't like me trying to lift mine in, trying to help him out. Due to the fact I was still feeling under the weather it was a quite drive into Boston. With it raining so much it wasn't like we really got to see much, and before long we arrived at the Omni Parker House. This was when I really became uncomfortable.

Now I guess I'm not the type of girl that ever gets to travel much, let alone stay in city hotels that are in any way fancy. Actually any hotel for that matter. Having a man take our luggage and wheel it to the front desk for us, was just odd. I'm certain I could have easily dragged it. I'm sure he wanted to be paid for it as well, but I only had two dollars change from the taxi, and there was no way I wanted to give him twenty. The hotel lobby made me feel like I should just turn around and run away. It was so very out of my league and class. I dont think I had ever been in such a beautiful looking room before. Everything looked like a dream to me, and I was stuck and had to pretend like I might be able to sleep here!

We were allocated our room and would be taken up by a lovely gentleman. As soon as I got in the lift, I blurted out that I had no idea about how on earth to do the tipping thing and when on earth was I supposed to actually do it. He was sweet and said usually for taking bags $1 per bag would be fine, and other than that it was only at dine in restaurants where you had waiters would you need to pay it. (oh and obviously taxi drivers but they added it without you having to think about it, which I liked). He took us to our room, and Joel and myself looked at each other when he opened the door and it was an "OMG we ARE in heaven" look we both had on our face.

Now the gentlman showed us how to use our door key to turn on the power in the room, then set up some trolleys so our cases were elevated off the ground and easy to use. He showed us the features of the room that we might like to use then excused himself after receiving that last $2 of mine in the form of a tip. It still felt really odd paying him $2 for that. I just dont get it, and felt bad that I could only give him $2, and hoped that he took loads of bags upstairs each day, so he got a decent wage.

As soon as he excited the room, Joel started a little dance and let out bursts of excitment then ran and took a flying leap at his bed. We both received this massive possibly double bed each to sleep in, that had the most divine mattress ever. It all looked so beautiful and I decided I loved Boston for this my Boston Room. Due to the jet lag we were both totally exhausted and didn't feel like heading out for tea. It was after a little while our telephone rang and it was the service desk asking if everything was to our liking and did we require anything. At first when the phone rang I freaked out. Talking to the phone asking why are you ringing me, you dont know me. I thought it was a nice touch, but a little bit scary at the same time.

It must have been about an hour or so after we arrived there was a knock at the door. This again had me curious as to what it might be, because we were in our little heaven here, so let us enjoy it peacefully please people! Opening the door I was greeted by this very tall and solid black man, who in the deepest voice ever stated "Milk and cookie for the kid". Well I nearly lost it laughing, when he walked in with a tray then put on our counter a little cup that had ice in it, and resting in the ice was a baby milk container, and a paper bag that was labelled "cookie". When he left the room we just killed ourselves laughing. Omg this WAS the best room ever!

For how embarrassed Joel was over the fact that he "wasn't a kid", I turned around and found him sitting on the bed happily eating his cookie and drinking up the milk. What a complete push over this child of mine was. He also didn't save me any, so I had to open on of the two packets of Tim Tams that I brought with me as a respresentative of Australia.

Before we were able to settle in for an early night the door again had someone knocking on it. I said to Joel at this point "who the hell can it be now, and can't they just leave us be?". Apparently it was room service wanting to know if we needed our beds turned down. Now considering I was already in my bed and about to go to sleep, we yelled back "no thankful", and luckily no one else disturbed us after that point. I was in my own slice of heaven. Although the room was slightly warmer than I would have liked it (This hotel had heaters and I think they wanted them all on roast!), I was able to open the window and let the freezing air in, and sink into my luxury bed and drift off to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb