A Week in Boston with Andrew


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
July 30th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This trip was one we will both remember and appreciate for many years to come! The purpose of this trip was so I could study at the School of Theology and Ministry at Boston College (BC). I must admit, however, that studying was not my top priority for the first 5 days I was at BC. Nope. I purposely fought against my instinct to constantly work and read. Instead, I decided to focus on Andrew and give him my time and attention. Work will be light and I will have to catch up on reading after Andrew flies home. Boy was I glad I invested this time with my son, because we had one of the very best weeks of our lives! It went something like this...

On Sunday we checked into our BC dorm room, caught the green line to Fenway, watched the Red Sox beat the Mariners 12 to 8, rode home, enjoyed a long walk around a nearby lake, threw frisbee, ate a simple dinner, read and crashed for the night.

On Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday: I got up early to type up my homework for class, read, and eat breakfast while Andrew slept in. I attended class from 8:45-11:45 and Andrew would then meet me at the green line with a sandwich. We would eat lunch on the train and then take in a college tour for the afternoon. We saw MIT, Boston College, Northeastern, and Boston University. In the evening we would go to Fenway Park to watch the Red Sox. We saw 3 more games against the Kansas City Royals. The Sox lost on Monday 1-3, but we beat them good on Tuesday and Wednesday 13-9 and 12-5. We even saw David Ortiz hit a Grand Slam! We both got new hats and jerseys. Together we were quite a pair!

On Thursday, I had the same morning schedule, but after class Andrew joined me for Chapel. In the afternoon I attended a colloquium with a Marist Priest from New Zealand. After that, Andrew and I took our Australian roommate, Phil with us downtown. We walked the Freedom Trail and then had dinner at Cheers outside Quincy Market. It was a great afternoon and evening.

On Friday, I did my normal routine in the morning and then we took a bus over to Harvard for a lengthy tour. Very impressive I must say. After that we shared the evening with Doug and Erin as I mentioned in the previous blog post.

On Saturday morning I rode with Andrew on the green line and got him checked in at the Logan Airport for his flight home. We were both sad to say goodbye, but certainly cherished the richness of this time together.

Meanwhile, Katherine was finishing up another week at Lutheridge with her good friend Megan Shackelford. I got in trouble with Janine for watching too much baseball without her and not calling home enough. Andrew would have soccer tryouts starting Monday and I would be in Boston another week all by myself. I should finally have time to read for class and catch up on my tavel blog. I'm keeping busy, but boy am I having fun in the process. Next week should be more quiet and meditative.

Gracious God, thank you so much for my dear son Andrew. I have great love for who he is and I am exceedingly proud of the type of young man he is growing up to be. Thank you for this memorable trip and the bonding we experienced while in Boston together. Amen.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb