Days 93 to 94 - Boston


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
October 16th 2010
Published: October 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am sitting in a coffee shop on the Upper West Side nursing a hangover and headache. Let’s get the Boston update up and out there.

After making my way to the airport I had to run the Oh so familiar gauntlet at Canadian/USA border customs. I faced the usual questions - “What are you doing here?”, “Where are you from?”, “What do you do for work?”, “Are you currently employed?” etc. etc.

The flight out to Boston was delayed by two hours due to some strange flight restrictions imposed by authorities in Boston. Unfortunately for us, we couldn’t get off the plane so we were stuck on the tarmac until take off. Fortunately for me there was a wide selection of movies so I kicked back and enjoyed my free coffee and peanuts.

Boston was going through some really strange weather when I arrived - it was ridiculously humid and you had this feeling that it was going to pour in the evening. Unfortunately for me Boston doesn’t really have many hostels and since all of the ones within the city limits were booked out I had to rough it with a night in a hotel - ash the emotional scars of sipping champagne in a Jacuzzi … the horror, the horror.

My hotel was literally a stone’s throw away from Fenway Park - the home of the famous Boston Red Soxs - so a tour of the grounds was the first thing on my list. Despite the bad weather, the grounds were spectacular and steeped in history. Now it could have been the approaching lightning storms but you could definitely feel something in the air. I spent most of the second day running around town in the rain; sampling clam chowder and seeing as much as I could through the hood of my rain coat.

I caught the late Greyhound bus from Boston down to Washington D.C. The less I speak about that ride the better sheesh what a gong show that was. We actually stopped off in Baltimore during the ride down to stretch our legs.

According to an article that I recently read online, Baltimore is ranked #13 on the “Most Dangerous Cities in America” list. My road trip has taken me to Oakland, CA (#3); Detroit, MI (#4); New Orleans, LA (#6); Washington DC (#21) and Philadelphia, PA (#22) ... not bad, not bad.

My images from my Flickr account don't seem to be appearing for some reason via the blog. Click here to view the Fenway Park images.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb