Days 90 to 92 - Back in Toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
October 2nd 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After leaving sunny Saskatoon, I was once again back in not so sunny Toronto. Thankfully the weather cleared up for most of my stay so I was fortunate enough to walk out to the outer suburbs for some sightseeing.

The destination on the top of my list was Casa Loma (a 4.5 kilometre walk from the hostel). Constructed over a three-year period, Casa Loma was originally a residence for financier Sir Henry Mill Pellatt. The “Hill House” has been featured in a number of movies and TV shows - X-Men, Chicago, The Tuxedo, and Scott Pilgrim etc. A film crew was actually present during my visit so a couple of rooms were unfortunately closed off to the public.









The rooms around the property were amazing and must have cost a king’s ransom. Sir Pellatt’s personal bathroom had to be the most amazing I’ll ever see. You know you’re rich when you’ve got a bathroom with floor to ceiling marble; a shower with 6 individual jets and a toilet with a view of downtown Toronto. This family was so rich they employed a crew of people to turn these jets on.



My next stop was the Royal Ontario Museum. The ROM is the largest museum in Canada for world culture and history, and among the largest museums in North America. Founded in 1912, the museum contains more than six million items and forty galleries.



After a couple hours of taking in exhibits, I walked back to the hostel via Chinatown and prepared for the Blue Jays/Yankees game. It’s the second game of baseball that I’ve been able to take in during this trip and once again the home team lost - I’m obviously a jinx. My tickets were up in the nosebleed section but the view was great.



I spent most of my last full day just walking around town. The highlight for that day was the trip up the CN Tower.



Larger versions of the displayed images can be found in my Flickr album. I've actually got a large panoramic of the rear of Casa Loma but it weighs in at a huge 30+MB and is too large to upload.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb