I'm Heeeeeeere!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm heeeeeeeeere (ish). This ish part is because i'm not entirely sure where exactly I am. I know I'm not where I'm ending up. But I also know that I am supposed to be here till tomorrow when we go to actual real live camp!! Happy days!!!

Some of you will be pleased to know, (and many surprised) that the whole journey went pretty smoothly. I mean other than a minor pineapple related incident it was all marvy. (The pineapple exploded in my bag, which means everything smells faintly of pineapple which so far isn't too much of a problem but i'm imagining fly infestations already). I met a couple of other girls who are going to my camp on my flight which is awesome!

On the plane I watched 'He's just not that into you', 'Bride Wars' so I had a bit of a girly film fest... Madz and I were very impressed with these films but Pheobe thought they were crap... if you're interested. I also watched 'The Young Victoria'. I actually quite liked this film. Having read a couple of biographies of Victoria I actually recognised some of the quotes which was good I think and the costumes and everything were good. Which lets face it is pretty important in the grand scheme of things...

On the way through security Madz and I made friends with our immigration man... He seemed highly amused by the crazy giggling english girls. Another immigration man actually came over to ask whether there would be many camp america people coming through because there were many red shirts and much giggling. This made us giggle more. The cutoms man was also very friendly although he did look very confused when we informed him that our main source of nutrition we had brought with us was eclairs. We explained they were sweets which didn't help his confusion much until I helpfully remembered that they're called 'candies' over here... Satisfied we didn't have anything else like alcohol and seeds, he let us though...

The plan for this afternoon is to laze around and wait for someone to bring us proper food. Until then we shall subsist off eclairs, sainsburies basics cashew nuts and vodka... hopefully they should arrive by 7.30. We're thinking we might nap in the sun.

Unfortunately I'm not too sure if I brought by camera cord and if I did where it would be... Luckily Pheobe has a SD reader thingy whatsit so I should be able to upload my photos at some point. In the mean time I will list the things I thought photo worthy on the way here so far.
1. Road Sign for boston.
2. All of us at the airport
3. Pheobe in our first american ELEVATOR
4. The amazing stretched minibus
5. Boston sky line from the parking lot
6. Harvard Dorms
7. A person rowing in Boston
8. Gay pride march in Boston
9. American Traffic lights
10. Whole bunch of american type houses
11. Prices at the Gas pump
12. Some churches

So there we go. My first travel blog from America!
I'll update this again soon
Toodles x

Advertisement



14th June 2009

WOOOP!
I am very glad you got there safely and are eating a nutritional and balanced diet! I await more news soon! Hope you liked the first note :) xxxxxxxx
18th June 2009

Notmissing you yet
Ellen. Looks like you have found good company and have at least managed to get to the 'States' without trauma. Though not quite where you expected to be. I can't see you lasting very long on eclairs and vodka. Perhaps an hour or so. No doubt the zoo keepers will feed the monkeys when they get round to it. Bad luck with the 'pineapple'. Plastic bags have their uses. Hope you have managed to get over the jet lag and are enjoying the pleasures of American cuisine. Dad xxx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb