Final photos from Boston + Antigua


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
February 12th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Puppet headsPuppet headsPuppet heads

These are some of the heads of the Bread and Puppet theater Pam, three of her friends and I went to last Saturday night
Hi,

It´s now 5 PM local time in Antigua, Guatemala. I've been here for two full days. but before I describe my trip and tell you about Antigua, here are some photos of my last days in Boston.


My trip to Antigua was eventful, as I almost missed the connection in Miami because my flight from Boston took off late due to ice on the wings. Luckily, however, the Miami flight had arrived late from Jamaica, so I made the next flight to Guatemala City. Then upon arrival in Guatemala City (more than 3 hours late) I discovered that American Airlines had lost my suitcase! By this time, I was coming down with a bad head cold and had fever and chills. Fortunately, even though it was close to 11:30 PM, the driver who was taking me to Antigua was still there, and he drove me safely to my Guatemalan family´s home. Poor Ignacio and Lucia were still waiting up for me. We all went straight to bed, but I didn´t sleep a wink because of my fever and cold and of the fact I didn´t have any medecine. The next day I bought some medecine and slept
the 5 of usthe 5 of usthe 5 of us

HK, Pam, Charlie, Dave and Georgia
in the afternoon after my class, so am beginning to feel better. And my suitcase arrived this morning!

I´m going to include a photo of the house, which is much bigger than it appears, as it has a long hall going all the way back to the next street. There are 4 other students staying there as well: Margy (qn American), two German girls, and Marcos (an older Canadian gentleman who is deaf!). We´re all taking classes in different schools from 8 am to 12 pm. My teacher´s name is Reina. Although she´s only 28, she explains things very well and is very patient. The system here is individual lessons only, but there are group activities for those who want them in the afternoon. I´m going to a volunteer three times a week in an after-school program for young children. One of the German girls, Veronika, is with the same volunteer program as me, but she´s going to be working in an orphanage with kids who are infected with HIV.

Antigua is a colonial city that reminds me very much of San Miguel de Allende in Mexico, where I lived for a month last year. There are paved
Hilary and CloakHilary and CloakHilary and Cloak

At the Mills Gallery next door to the Bread and Puppets theater show, you could try on 2Save the Planet" cloaks. The idea is to put one on, give your name to the gallery attendant, and then go out in the street with it for an hour or so and do publicity for the animals that are in danger of extinction.
streets, colonial buildings, and lots of Internet cafes and shops! But the people here dress more colorfully, esp. the women. Between 50-60% of the population is indigenous, and there´s lots of poverty and corruption. Very interesting to learn about, but very sad, too.

Will post some photos. Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Hilary and MauraHilary and Maura
Hilary and Maura

having lunch
Mi casaMi casa
Mi casa

My family´s house is the yellow one
a la mesaa la mesa
a la mesa

Lucia, Margy, two German girls, Marcos, Elsa (Lucia's daughter). Missing are Ignacio, Edgar (Elsa's husband), and Elsa´s children


13th February 2008

Guatemala sounds amazing
H--thx for blogging!! Love to read the travelogue. Pix are great. How's your espanol coming along? hugs--Shirley
13th February 2008

The city seems really nice and the weather too!! enjoy your time there and your classes... Gros bizoux
13th February 2008

great to be with a family
Your program looks well structured with individual and group elements. How nice to be housed with a family. Happy Valentines Day. Betty

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb