Training in the North East


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 27th 2005
Published: August 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

From New York I took the Amtrak train to Boston and made a direct escape for the nearest beach. I have now walked the beaches on the west (Santa Monica, CA), north (Lake Michigan) and east (Revere Beach, MA) borders.

I also went up to Salem and spent sometime with the local witches who tried to cast a spell over me. I have enjoyed meeting new people most are easy to get to know and just curious as to why an Australian would be passing their "little town". One of them I could swear looked just like Bridget Fonda. Nevertheless after a short history lesson on the 1692 witch trials and coffee, I moved on.

For a region known for being the birthplace of the American revolution, it is interesting to see how much of England is reflected in the society. People here are very proud of their history and their freedoms gained at the risk of facing the red coats and their bayonets. I do not think it is a concidence that a popular delicacy in Boston today is a well cooked red lobster.

I am now heading from Boston to Rochester, NY which is just at the lakes edge to Canada. This is a six hour trip across the countryside of Massachusetts. After Rochester, I will either bus or drive pass Niagara Falls and up to Toronto or jump on the ferry cat across the lake and into Toronto.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



3rd September 2005

You have made great choices about places to see. I love the whale photos but where are the witch photos?

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb