TGIF!!


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I got my passport yesterday after a really nice lady from the post office called to let me know it was there. Well, I only look slightly like a convicted felon...hopefully if I smile really nicely at customs, they'll still let me into Japan! Hahaha 😊 Today I'm going out with my friends Yoshi and Kazumi to help Yoshi find a good English school where he can study this summer. Although, I think his English is really good, and within a year or so (without any formal instruction) he should be speaking like a native. I also heard from my boss today, who is so nice and helping me so much in trying to get ready to leave for Japan. I have been working with his assistant, Keiko, to get my visa application submitted, and out of respect I have been calling her Keiko-sama, since she is my superior. However, I learned from my boss that this is incorrect because she is in my same group (friends, family, co-workers, sports teams, etc.). In calling her by the honorific, "sama" it essentially adds up to bragging about one's self (similar to referring to yourself as -san, which is not done either). I hope this is the most serious faux pas I commit, because I really want to do well in Japan, but I guess you can't learn if you don't make mistakes sometimes right? 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb