Hiking at Catonsville, Maryland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Catonsville
June 18th 2014
Published: June 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Since this was going to be my first hiking experience, I didn't know what to expect. I was travelling to the Patapsco Valley State Park, in Cantonsville; a few miles outside of Baltimore. I boarded a local bus that took me to Hammonds Ferry road and then another one that took me close to Cantonsville. From there on it was a walk of a couple of kilometres, up to Hilton, the place where this park was located. It was a warm and sunny day.



Once I reached the place, I had a look at a rough map. There were many trails available; but the one that caught my attention was the Forest Glen trail. This trail would take me down the mountains, across a couple of railway tracks, to the Patapso river. A little while after taking off, I realized that this was hiking and was not as simple as walking. I had to look at the ground and try to make out the trail; in other words, I had to look for the right path to walk on. I soon reached the end of the plains and had to go down the slopes from there. It probably had rained there recently, for the mud was soft. There were dead leaves that were wet and the slope was sharp, which made going down, tricky. I took careful steps, while maintaining my balance. I knew that coming back up, the same way, would be even more difficult, but that was a problem that I thought of dealing with when the time came.



I reached the railway tracks and had to go further down from there, on the other side. I couldn't see the river as the forest was thick, but I could hear the sound of the water flowing. I again picked up a path, that seemed safe. I got down, walked for a few minutes and finally reached the river. It was then that I realized that the warm weather had made me lose a lot of water. I rested for a while, drank water and took in some carbs. I also befriended a little dog, while doing so.



I walked by the river for a while, before deciding to head back. I knew that climbing the mountain, by the same track, that I had used for coming down, was not going to be easy. I thought of looking for another trail and found one.



I made my way up the mountains, climbed over a couple of big logs, went past a few mean, thorny bushes and finally made it to the top.



Two hours hours later, I reached Baltimore.



So at the end of it all, I was a bit dehydrated and had some minor cuts here and there, but the experience was worth it. I then realized, that hiking is just like life. For, in both hiking and life in general, you may have a final destination in mind, but may have no idea as to how you need to get there. The important thing however, is to take the first step in the right direction and follow it up with another one. Sure you will come across several road blocks on the way and may have to change your plan; but in the end, you'll get to where you want to be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



29th June 2014

Kudos. Good writing
Arjun; Write more.............its interesting. While reading I experienced hiking too. Keep living real bro.
29th June 2014

Good blog and narration
29th June 2014

Life, as you rightly said, is a mountain trekking, where you have to first choose from the many that you have and stick to it.Of course, you need to have a fairly good knowldge about the' trail' you've choosen and your experiamnce and your own 'self assesement' come handy. The sucess comes to person who can take calculated risks in life.And there's nothing that stops your inherent love of outddors and adventure enthusiasm!! I hope you could get fabulous opportunities to do such and could add them to the Blog as well. Good Shooting, Arjun !!
30th June 2014

In the rat race most of us loose a track of life and time. Its always encouraging to hear about your adventures. Glad you have kept yourself connected to nature... to Life... CHEERS buddy..!!!
1st July 2014

U Rock..!!
Hey Arjun... Nice to c that u enjying dere...specially doing all the stuff which u actually want to. I know this adventure is inner you. Hiking blog and pictures are nice.....it seems u enjyed alot, must be a great experience....Take care and be happy like this alwayz...U are alwaz missed. ;)))) Sarita
2nd September 2014

Better late than never.......................
Wonderful ! Tomar trekking experiences ageo porechhi. Tobey ebar tomar trek jodio tumi ekai chhiley ......jatokkhon ami tomar lekha porechhi astey astey mone hochhilo ami tomar sangey okhaney gechhi.....eto sundor description tomar ! Ami deritey comment pathai karon ami sab lekhai at least 3 times porey nebar por tar opor comments diye thaki. Tomar lekhatey jekhaney tumi bolchho......mati vijey achhey....gachher patao veja -----amar money holo ami eto durey thekeo veja mati-r gandho pachhi....veja patar gandho o ! Ami dekhlam tomar onward journey jekhaney noditey giye mischhey sekhaney tomakey ektu samayer janya holeo ekti kukur tomakey pahara diyechhey ! Ar sabsheshey ferar rasta change kora .....eta wise decision chhilo. However, ami khub enjoy korlam. Ami asha korchhi tomar next journey tey ami abar tomar satheyi thakbo.................................blessings for you, Arjun !

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb