History Comes Alive!


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Inner Harbor


USS Constellation (long)USS Constellation (long)USS Constellation (long)

Wow, this ship sure is long! And made of wood too!
Hello friends!

Well, I've finally gotten out to my first adventure...exploring nautical history at Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Specifically, I spent quite a bit of time on the historic U.S.S. Constellation...the last all-sail ship built by the American Navy, before the Civil War! It makes me wonder if in olden times, for the very first zoos, my ancestors were brought over on sailing ships like this. Quite an overpowering and fascinating thought! Luckily it was a gorgeous day and I had so much fun! But let's get to the fun stuff...the pictures! Be sure to see all 6....and stay tuned for more adventures!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

USS Constellation (tall)USS Constellation (tall)
USS Constellation (tall)

And boy, it is tall as well!
Cannons or Giraffes?Cannons or Giraffes?
Cannons or Giraffes?

With all that space for cannons, where would the giraffes be able to stretch their necks?
Under the bow-walk...Under the bow-walk...
Under the bow-walk...

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! I'm right under the ship's bow!
Sailing, sailing...Sailing, sailing...
Sailing, sailing...

Can you believe it! It's like I'm steering the ship! Better lookout!
Arrrrgghhh!Arrrrgghhh!
Arrrrgghhh!

Ho ho ho, Blackbeard Spot the Pirate will blow your ship to timbers if you don't hand over your booty!


27th July 2006

Ahoy!
Spot!! You look great behind the ship's wheel. Perhaps there is a future for you sailing the seven seas, or at least the Chesapeake Bay. One word of advice, though. Regarding that last photo, titled "Arrrrgghhhh!" You might want to choose your posing positions and camera angles carefully for future shots. I'm just sayin'. But, gee, how wonderful that your co-workers get to travel vicariously through you! Be sure to collect autographs, and give us the whole scoop on any celebrity sightings! Who knows? You just might wind up attracting some attention yourself in your travels. I'll watch for you in the newspapers. When you're famous, don't forget the little people who adopted you. (Pun intended, I suppose.)
30th July 2006

Spot, Spot, Spot! What a joy to come home from vacation and have a postcard from you! And you're having a ball. I looked for you at the beach, and when you weren't there, I really started to get concerned, but now I see it was all for naught. Keep up your wonderful travelogue, but be sure to keep in touch so you'll know when and where we move. P.S. You are really photogenic!
7th August 2006

Spot T.
Ahoy, Matey!! Wow! Oh, my, Spot T., what a big cannon you have!!!! You should sign on with Captain Jack Sparrow. I'm sure he could use another shipmate. You could sail the Carribean Seas and collect all kinds of booty. Bon Voyage! Good Luck on future adventures. I'll be watching for you!

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb