Introduction Entry


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I leave for China in 20 days. I finally booked my flight this morning, and I’m going to New York at the beginning of next week in order to get my visa. For the last two years I’ve known for sure that I wanted to work abroad after finishing college. Over the course of the last year every step that I’ve made has made my plans more solid and inevitable . It’s funny though. For months I’ve been talking to everyone about my upcoming job in China, and preparing, and it’s seemed absolutely unreal. Now I know for a fact that in less than three weeks from now I’ll be standing in Wuhan in front of a classroom of children.

For the most part I’m excited. I’ve been studying Chinese with Rosetta Stone, and I’m interested to see how much I can transfer the skills I’ve learned through the program into a real world setting. I’ve studied how to be an English teacher. I want to be there. The scariest part is the flight. I love to see new places, but I’m not a big fan of being in the air.

At any rate, I’m keeping this blog mostly to keep in touch with my friends and family while I’m abroad.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb