Last stop in Maine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So, I'm getting so close to finishing Maine I can taste it! The weather has taken a turn for the worse. It has been raining for about 5 days straight now and it is not in the forecast to stop. I suppose if I only had two words to describe Maine it would be muddy and steep. The trails here are mostly runoff paths for rain water so I've been creek walking for an eternity. My shoes will never be dry! I've got a situation similar to blisters across the knuckles of my toes to the point of bleeding. Surprisingly it really doesn't hurt that much. I'm in incredibly good spirits right now and I'm super excited to cross into New Hampshire!

Thanks to all of you that have added comments and are tracking me as I go. It means a lot to me to see your support as I go. I hope all is well at home and if you get a chance you should send me your mailing address, that way I might be able to send you a post card as I go!


Most of the hikers out here have taken trail names and up until now I've been avoiding it. I've been tagged as Slow-Mo. It comes from the group of people in front of me whom I lost when I had to take time off for my knee. They have been writing me notes in the shelter log books along the way. I'll catch them soon enough though now that I'm feeling better. I suppose then that the name will be a joke.



Advertisement



23rd July 2008

hahaha
Slow-Mo is definitely the last thing in the world I'd ever think of when you came to mind.
23rd July 2008

SLOW-MO!
Haha that's mint, geez Tom, what a slow poke. Send me you're feet, I'll soup'em up so they go faster. You might have to eat race food then though... guess that wouldn't be great for trail feet, gotta' keep'em trailable. Ah well. Be careful of trench-foot man, could spell bad news if you don't respect it. Good to keep hearing from you, continue kicking ass! -Taylor
23rd July 2008

The damn MAP!
so I'm still having trouble with the map program, but as only the last few points are screwed up (it moves points to funny places when I try to save it) . I got to East B Hill Rd. and hitched into Andover....where I am now. I plan to be in New Hampshire by the end of the week.
23rd July 2008

love ya! take care of your feet. since you are in town - put them in a dryer for a spin.
23rd July 2008

oh my gosh, andover is so far from the trail! did your box come in the mail yet? we got yours.
23rd July 2008

Slow mo?? You'll show them!! I am so glad you are keeping this blog... love to see your progress... I hope the rain stops for you soon... reminiscent of Bowling Green weekend?? :)
24th July 2008

tom - you're my hero. :) keep on keepin on!!!!!!
24th July 2008

I am so glad to see you are doing pretty well, I am always thinking about you and your journey, good luck my friend ~M
28th July 2008

bats and bugs
Ya know how the other day you were telling me that the masquitoes were horrible! Well, I figured out why, there is a fungus that has been attacking the bats this year. The fungus doesn't actually kill the bats but it makes them lose weight and get sick, so then they don't eat as many bugs because they are sick. I put up a bat house so that hopefully I can help raise some healthy bats to eat bugs. I live in South Buffalo though so I haven't gotten any yet. Good luck with your trek, we all miss you. Do you know how long it will take you to get through new hampshire? Channy
29th July 2008

New Hampshire!
I really enjoyed talking to you sunday... even though it was short. I'm so freakin excited you are not in maine anymore! Im sure Mt washington it giving you hell right now! ps. lovin the pics.
29th July 2008

what's up?
hope you are enjoying New Hampshire. everyone at works asks where you are and how you are doing. I love your phone calls, they really keep me going. looking for next blog.hugs + kisses. M
30th July 2008

yay!
oh that's so amazing tommy... i really am so thrilled for you... it sounds like an adventure of a lifetime :)
1st August 2008

top drawer indeed
nice journey so far brother, just checkin in, funny thing, i got a pair of marmot boots that kills my knees....shoes are everything man!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb