150 miles!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So after resting in Monson for a few days I'm feeling quite a bit better. Not exactly 100% but getting there. I was able to take off and hike the next 30 or so miles to Caratunk. I've met so many more wonderful people and I seem to be meeting more almost every day! Shawn and Charlene cought up to me and I've been hiking with them again for a few days ( they started on Katahdin the same day as me). Here in Caratunk there is a place called Northern Outdoors Resort. They will rent a beautiful cabin to Thru-Hikers for a little over $60 a night and you can fit 6 people in there. I joined up with five others and got the price down to about 10 or 12. With the cabin came use of the pool and HOT TUB! That felt wonderful on my knee at the time but I was hurting this morning. I'm abuot to hitch out of town and take the ferry across the Kenebeck River. The ATC offers free canoe rides with all your gear from 9 to 11 am...... because someone died in the '80s trying to swim it. So overall I'm feeling good today and I'm ready to hit the trail again. Cell service is spotty here so I haven't checked my phone in a while but maybe at the next peak (it works better at mountain tops!) I miss everyone at home but I'd rather just bring you al with me than come back. Maybe I'll ask for my camera cable in a mail drop so I can start posting pictures for you all to see.

Advertisement



15th July 2008

I am having so much fun reading your adventure!! Thank you for keeping this blog so we all know what you are doing and where you are in your journey. I cannot wait to hear about all you experience along the way and see all of the amazing pictures I am sure you are taking. :) Safe travels!
15th July 2008

miss you!
Love from Ireland! sending you good knee vibes kid! smiles.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb