Around and about New Orleans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
April 12th 2013
Published: April 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Weeping AngelWeeping AngelWeeping Angel

Weeping Angel statue -- well known image around New Orleans
Hi, Friends --

These photos (plus more to come) were taken last week when I visited a friend of mine, Sandy Courvoisier, a photographer, for a glorious week of shooting photos all over the New Orleans area where she lives. This was our third week-long photo trip -- one was a week around Blowing Rock, NC, and last year we spent a week on Anna Maria Island, FL.

As you will see over a few blogs, we visited cemeteries, an alpaca farm, plantations, and, of course, downtown New Orleans. This first blog has photos taken in three cemeteries -- Metairie, Lafayette, and St. Louis No. 1. (I think that's right, but I'll check with Sandy later). I'm enchanted by crypts, especially the very old ones with ferns and other plants poking out their cracks.

In a later blog, I'll explain to those of you who are interested in photography how I took most of these photos. I used a process called High Dynamic Range, which I found to be fairly easy -- at least now as I'm a beginner. When I better understand the finer points, I'll be making more decisions. Right now I'm using the software's presets (Photomatix). More later.



Here's a description of crypts and how they're used from Frommers' travel blog. How practical!

There are two types of these functional crypts: the aforementioned "family vaults" and the "oven crypts" -- so called because of their resemblance to bread ovens in a wall. A coffin is slid inside, and the combination of heat and humidity acts like a slow form of cremation. In a year or so, the occupant's bones are pushed to the back, coffin pieces are removed, and another coffin can be inserted. In the larger family vaults (made of whitewashed brick), there are a couple of shelves and the same thing happens. As family members die, the bones are swept into a pit below, and everyone eventually lies jumbled together. The result is sometimes dozens of names, going back generations, on a single spot. It's a very efficient use of cemetery space, far more so than conventional sweeping expanses of graveyard landscaping.

Take care,

Paula


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

goodies for the destitute boysgoodies for the destitute boys
goodies for the destitute boys

Lots of pennies. I'm guessing the silver coins don't stay all that long.
anquished angelanquished angel
anquished angel

(I don't know the name of this statue, but she does look anguished to me.)


13th April 2013

Cemeteries
I love walking thru cemeteries myself and looking at the different tombs and reading the epitaphs, etc. And taking photos. I look forward to seeing more, thanks for sharing.
14th April 2013

Very Interesting
What a very interesting thing to do.....
15th April 2013

Thank you!
You do amazing photograhy, Paula! We love seeing your pictures; in your case, it's truly art. We've been to N.O., but certainly didn't get pictures like that. Hope all ils well with the two of you; when is your next trip to Springfield? Love, Lois

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb