A Finishing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
March 29th 2006
Published: March 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AlmaAlmaAlma

Alma looking at her valuables.
We are certainly sore today...however, it's not just from our work...but football, basketball and dancing on Bourbon Street last night! Another story....

Our team finished the St. Amant's home today while they were there! We've been sooo fortunate to meet our family this week. It's brought the essence and purpose of this trip right to our hearts. They've joined us each day bringing pizza, gatorade and chicken, while sorting through belongings that might be salvagable. They've found many cherished and thought-lost items bringing joyful tears for most of us. Bill would like to ccok for us when we return someday...he is a retired off shore cook! Gumbo is his speciality. Bill and Alma adopted each and everyone of us on the team - there's 10 of us. And we've adopted them....forever! Bill told me today that we brought him hope... that he can return to his home one day. And Bill and Alma have reminded me of the resilience of the human spirit.

Bill and Alma's oldest son was the highly publicized man called: Last Man Standing. Famousfor being the last St Bernard parish community member to leave...he lived on his roof for 5 days because he wanted to help everyone leave. They're writing a documentary about his story.

Thanks for checking in with each day....it makes a difference.

Susan

Advertisement



30th March 2006

Re: A Finishing
Hi Susan, What a great memory the group will be able to share! Paying it forward will make a difference for a lifetime. I'm most grateful that you all are safe and are physically and psychologically okay. I've heard that many people have a difficult time seeing the results of Hurricane Katrina. On the other hand, I'm glad to hear that everyone is physically okay, well, except for this football and basketball last night. I can't wait to hear these stories! Keep us posted on anything new, excited, or memorable. My prayers continue to be with you all for a safe and enjoyable experience. Can't wait to see you all!!!!
31st March 2006

Just Checking
Hi Susan, I thought I would wait a few days until you had a chance to really dig in. It sounds like you have your hands full! I am so touched by the stories you have posted. As I read Amy's entry it brought a tear, there are so many wonderful things going on for you and the people you are helping. You are all so lucky to have these memories to cherish. You are all going to be so tired when you get back..so take a couple of extra days off to rest up!! See you soon..drive careful! Chris
31st March 2006

Susan, I feel so blessed to know you. I know I have not seen or talked with you in awhile but hearing your awesome stories has really touched my heart. Know that you and the whole ECC gang are in my prayers for safety and health during this amazing, but tiring, time you exprienceing. You are such a blessing to those people. It is something that I know they will never be able to thank you enough for. Words can not express how much they appreciate what you and the whole ECC gang has done. Have a safe trip home and rest up when you get home. I look forward to hearing about the trip when you get back. Jamie
2nd April 2006

You are all amazing!!
Hi Amybeth and Rick and Rick!! I imagine that the memories you have from this trip will last a lifetime. You are all a great team! What a wonderful way for students, staff and faculty to work together and represent ECC! Travel home safely!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb