Day 11 - Fort Payne, Alabama to Baton Rouge, Louisiana


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

484 miles today484 miles today484 miles today

Ungodly hot miles.
Greetings from Baton Rouge, LA! 484 extremely hot miles today. I left Fort Payne, AL at 3:00am and arrived in Baton Rouge, LA at about 3:00pm.

It's great to see my old friends again and for the next two days, I will be here in Baton Rouge catching up.

As for the trip home:

Currently, a large part of the country is experiencing a major heat wave. Specifically, the areas that I will be riding through fro the remainder of the trip will be dangerously hot. Some of there desert areas will be in excess of 120 degrees. This is the point where it stops being about the ride, stops being about having fun and starts being a death march. Additionally, I have to remove a majority of my protective gear in order to survive heat like that. Not good. I'm exploring some other options, namely traveling by night, waiting for the heat wave to pass, or shipping the bike home and fly back. We shall see. I am inclined to keep riding but if I'm going to be miserable, what's the point? Again, we shall see. Today is about friends and food.



Stay tuned.

See you on the road.

Ride Safe,

Alien


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



18th June 2016

Hi Scott
I know your glad to be with your friends. The heat really is a concern. Please be careful. Ox
18th June 2016

Hi Scott
I know your glad to be with your friends. The heat really is a concern. Please be careful. Ox

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb