Our Backyard


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
June 29th 2012
Published: July 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 29 10:07 am



Today, I met a nice woman who told me I had to work hard and do well in France because "people don't want me to do well". This isn't really unusual considering I've grown up in America as an African American woman. I've been told that society will make it hard for me to succeed because of my race, since I was hold enough to understand who exactly 'they' were. However, I'm not writing this to discuss the woes of being a minority in America. Instead, I was inspired to write, because the beautiful 76 year old women who warned me in an airport in Kentucky, is German. Lydia is her name and she taught me a few things while she helped me spend as close to the 18 dollars I had in food vouchers. Not only did we find enough candy, Chapstick, Nuts and bubble gum for a total of 17.96, but she also taught me how to say goodbye in German "Lebewohl" and that French and German have some words in common. She explained the word for sidewalk is the same in both languages. I know she didn't tell me the meaning
LydiaLydiaLydia

Germany invades Cinninnati
of life or explain the scientific theory of relativity. But, she did make my day and she showed me I don't have to wait until I arrive in France to have these kinds of wonderful encounters. It turns out I can find a little bit of foreign wisdom and kindness in my own backyard. If, I am not afraid to ask questions and enjoy the moment as it unravels.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb