We'll Sing in the Sunshine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
November 4th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Unpolished!Unpolished!Unpolished!

Five boys together everyday! You could hear the walls and floors groan ...
As we drive away (from MI) Kirk is set on “the mission ahead”. The boys are a bit touchy and edgy. We are all saddened with “Good-bye”; In addition I am saddened by missing a visit with a few people; Saddened by not getting more visits with others. I am disappointed that, after all these years, I still haven’t gotten Kirk to Greenfield Village/Henry Ford Museum. A place I know he would love.

It would be easy to stay in this saddened frame of mind but I have to “choose” to dwell on the positive aspects of our time in Michigan. They far outweigh the sadder side.

I am reminded once again that I have a loving God. Psalm 37:4 says, “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart”. A few of my desires: *A camper to use while in MI *A job at the cider mill making carmel apples again. *Reconnecting with people I haven't seen for 15-20yrs. *Laughing till I cry. *I am thrilled to watch Kwabena continue to absorb and blossom with this life experience. I could just go on and on …

Random things I have learned
UofM Natural History MuseumUofM Natural History MuseumUofM Natural History Museum

A super cool place to spend a rainy day.
and/or have been reminded of;
*In a restaurant - choose ice tea over coke (no calories)
*Life in the forest is horizontal (hunters understand)
*You can use your Xbox (Wii game) and TV to view pictures from your cameras memory card.
*I have absolutely Fabulous Friends!

And my family … what can I say? … I love you each and every one.

I have acquired new “heroes” - people that take the difficult road and choose to live by Godly principals. They do this even when the police won’t notice otherwise.

I/we have gained a new “family” at Ore Creek Church. We love you guys. Our cell group … you guys are precious! Thanks for welcoming us and “keeping our secret”. Love (da, da, da) love will keep us together … (smile) C&T

Times are hard in MI (as with all of our United States). I am reminded, “Be kinder than necessary for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.”

Never before has “Florida” sounded so good. Kirk describes life in Ghana as “endless summer”. For the past 6-7 wks we had “endless cold, damp, windy” days. Don’t get me wrong, I may
Praise Had No FearPraise Had No FearPraise Had No Fear

The man was a bit nervous holding the snake and it was his display! Cousin Hayden Rohkohl is in the red-T
get cold easily but I’m not afraid of the cold. It’s when the damp and wind join in that I want to flee. When we reach FL the end of this week, I imagine the four of us standing outdoors with faces upturned and arms open wide embracing and absorbing the dry, warmth of the sun. Once nicely warmed; We'll sing in the sunshine. We'll laugh everyday ...


Searching for the sun
Christine & Co PS. What kind of trick have we played on ourselves?! We've traded our Michigan camper for a Red Roof Inn and swimming pool in Kentucky. We've driven over 400 miles, running from the cold and damp, only to jump into a cold (wet) pool! After a chilly swim we ran for our room and all piled into the hot shower ... together!







Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Historic Parshalville Cider MillHistoric Parshalville Cider Mill
Historic Parshalville Cider Mill

I worked here (making carmel apples) for several seasons during my late teens-early twenties. Some of the girls I worked with then also returned, just for the fun of it, this season! "A Season" is early Sept to mid Nov
Tea PartyTea Party
Tea Party

Kirk and the boys had a "Guys" tea party with fresh, unpasturized apple cider and donuts I brought home from the cider mill! Yum
Carving Pumpkins with Cousin CodyCarving Pumpkins with Cousin Cody
Carving Pumpkins with Cousin Cody

Picking them was easy. Now the work begins.
Gone HuntingGone Hunting
Gone Hunting

My brothers Boyd and Chris took each of our boys out for a hunt. What a sight they were. Praise in oversized clothes. Then my brothers with modern day cell phone in one hand and bow and arrow for hunting in the other.
OH DEER!OH DEER!
OH DEER!

Kwabena must have deer fever!
We'll Sing in the Sunshine!We'll Sing in the Sunshine!
We'll Sing in the Sunshine!

South bound and down!


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb